Scropton, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Scropton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Scropton, Derbyshire
Scropton St+Paul Derbyshire.JPG
Scropton St+Paul Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1680
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cubley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Scropton is an Ancient Parish mostly in Derbyshire and partly in Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include Needwood Forest and the township of Foston. Wesleyan Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Scropton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Foston and Scropton were from 1837 to 1890 in both Derbyshire and Staffordshire within the Burton upon Trent registration district.

From 1890 to 1936 they remained in the Burton district.

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Repton district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Scropton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Scropton St Paul (1680) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1869-1912
  NONE
1900-1912
  NONE
1893-1912
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1665-1864 Mar 1665-1856 Burials 1665-1866


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 July 2014, at 20:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,358 times.