Sculcoates All Saints, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes, S-YGotoarrow.png East Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Sculcoates

Sculcoates All Saints, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston-upon-Hull
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Sculcoates PLU
Registration District Sculcoates
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sculcoates [All Saints] is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. St Mary's, the original ancient parish church of Sculcoates, was re-placed by All Saints in the year 1869.

SCULCOATES (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the borough of Hull, locally in the E.riding of York. The Independents,Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from the parish registers of All Saints (formerly St Mary's) and its two cahpelries--Christ Church (1822) and St Paul's (1846) exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
SCULCOATES ALL SAINTS (1538) Online Records (formerly St Mary's)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1870

1545-1848, 1859, 1866,1880-1882

1814-1870

JOIN None

1575-1753

None

AC 1538-1772

1538-1772

1538-1772


SCULCOATES CHRIST CHURCH CHAPELRY (1822) Online Records 

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1822-1892

1823-1892

None
JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


SCULCOATES ST PAUL'S CHAPELRY (1846) Online Records 

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1846-1881

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding SCULCOATES CHRIST CHURCH and comprising the whole ancient parish of HULL to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HULL parish page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, see "Parish History" (above) or, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464226.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 34-36. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 2,093 times.