Seaborough, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Seaborough, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Seaborough, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Crewkerne
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Beaminster PLU
Registration District Beaminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SEA-BOROUGH, a parish, in the union of Beaminster, hundred of Crewkerne, W. division of Somerset, 2½ miles (S. by W.) from Crewkerne.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Seaborough, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2][3][4]
FMP = Dorset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Seaborough, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819 1550-1819
AC 1813-1921 1813-1921 1813-1979 1813-1979
FMP
1562-1836

MARR
1596-1623

NBI

1597-1851

Original parish registers are held at the Dorset History Centre.

Seaborough Parish Registers at the Dorset History Centre
Baptisms 1562-1978
Marriages 1562-1973
Banns 1757-1974
Deaths 1654-1970
Seaborough Parish Registers at the Family History Library
Bishop's Transcripts of baptisms, marriages, & burials 1594-1598; 1608-1613; 1622-1639; 1662-1666; 1707-1708; 1732-1813; 1837
Bishop's Transcripts of baptisms, marriages, & burials
1594-1623
Churchwardens' Accounts

Film

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474596.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Seaborough/index.html

Somerset Online Parish Clerks Project

Somerset Church and other records

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 24 September 2013.
  2. 'Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812', Ancestry.
  3. 'Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921', Ancestry.
  4. 'Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001', Ancestry.
  5. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past (WayBack Machine), accessed 28 July 2012.
  6. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,265 times.