Seacombe, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Seacombe

Guide to Seacombe, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SEACOMBE, with Poolton, is a township, in the parish of Wallasey union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, in the Southern division of the county of Chester, it is ¾ of a mile (W. by N.), by ferry, from Liverpool. A church, dedicated to St. Paul, was consecrated in 1847. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church records

Seacombe St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Seacombe St Paul Parish (1847) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1870-1900
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
FS BT'S 1885-1885
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Chapelry of Seacombe Bishop's Transcripts: Cheshire Record Office: EDB 183

Bishop's transcripts for Chapelry of Seacombe, 1851-1885 Film
Baptisms 1851, 1885 1647670 Item 6

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Independent/Congregational
  • Welsh Presbyterian
  • Baptists
  • Wesleyans
  • Welsh Calvinists
  • Roman Catholics

Non-Conformists records:

Here is a list of records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Church records for the Brighton Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel: Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 120/13/1-6

Church records for the Brighton Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Seacombe, 1902-1954 Film
Marriages, 1902-1954 2299525 Items 22 - 27

Church records for the Poulton Road Primitive Methodist Chapel: Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 127/6/1-3120/13/1-6

Church records for the Poulton Road Primitive Methodist Chapel, Seacombe, 1916-1941
Film
Marriages, 1916-1941
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2299526 Items 1 - 3

Church records for the St. Paul's Road United Methodist Free Chapel: Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 123/1.

Church records for the St. Paul's Road United Methodist Free Chapel, Seacombe, 1909-1934
Film
Baptisms, 1909-1934
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2299526 Item 4

Church records of St. Joseph's Catholic Church: Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 26/5472/1-10, 12.

Church records of St. Joseph's Catholic Church, Seacombe, 1864-1992
Film
Baptisms, 1864-1909. Index to baptisms, 1864-1924.
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2197776 Items 3 - 4
Baptisms, 1909-1949. Marriages, 1868-1933. Burials, 1868-1883.
Granite Mountain Record Vault British Film 2197777
Burials, 1883-1992.
2197778 Items 1 - 3

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837-1861)
  • Birkenhead (1861-1912)

Poor Law

  • Wirral

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,260 times.