Seaford, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Seaford, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Seaford, Sussex
Seaford St Leonard Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flexborough
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Eastbourne PLU
Registration District Eastbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pevensey
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SEAFORD (St. Leonard), a cinque port and parish, and formerly a representative borough and a markettown, in the union of Eastbourn, locally in the hundred of Flexborough, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 59¼ miles (S. S. E.) from London. Seaford was originally a member of Hastings, but was made a port by charter of Henry VIII., who incorporated the inhabitants under the style of "the Bailiffs, Jurats, and Commonalty of the town, parish, and borough of Seaford." The church is the nave of one of the old churches, with a tower, and a small chancel of later date; and although the modern repairs and additions have been numerous, and do not harmonize with the original style, the building still retains vestiges of beauty.[1]

The parish church of St Leonard has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Seaford Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) See also Seaford East Sussex List of churches in Lewes district Wikipedia and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 36-40. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Seaford, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Seaford, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1892


IGI 1559-1885 1559-1890

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Seaford

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464162.

Poor Law Unions

Eastbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Seaford/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 36-40. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 September 2014, at 15:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,058 times.