Seaforth, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Seaforth, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Seaforth, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union West Derby PLU
Registration District West Derby
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1749
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool North
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

SEAFORTH, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Sefton, union and hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 5 miles (N.) from Liverpool. [1]


Seaforth is historically part of Lancashire. Seaforth joined Crosby Municipal Borough in 1937 having previously been part of Waterloo with Seaforth urban district. The whole of Crosby became part of the new Metropolitan Borough of Sefton on 1 April 1974.

The name of Seaforth is thought to come from the Old Norse sæ-fjord, sæ-ford, "sea inlet". It was recorded as Safforde "sea ford" in 1128, suggesting Old English name origins. Another theory for the name of the area is that the name was taken from 'Seaforth House', a former mansion located in the area, which took its name from the name of the family who owned it.

Seaforth Dock opened in 1972 and is the largest dock facility on the River Mersey. It is part of the Port of Liverpool and Liverpool Freeport.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/



Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Seaforth chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Sefton to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


SEAFORTH ST THOMAS Chapelry  (1839) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1855-1859, 1873-1877
None
None
LOPC 1839-1937 1870-1939 None
LBMD None 1870-1950 None
SEFTON ST HELEN PARISH (1597) Indexes (ancient parish containing SEAFORTH Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1598-1855 1600-1603, 1616-1642, 1659-1840 1783-1899
LOPC 1597-1780, 1783-1856 1600-1783, 1813-1884 1783-1899
LBMD None 1837-1950 None
FMP None 1657-1775 None
AC 1597-1783 1597-1783 1597-1783
FREG None None None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Seaforth and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sefton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the SEFTON PARISH page.


Parish registers for St. Thomas' Church, Seaforth Microfilm copy of original records at the Liverpool Record Office. Liverpool Record Office no.: THS 2/1-12, 3/1-5, 5/1-2.

Baptisms, 1839-1871. FHL BRITISH Film 1546064 Items 8 - 9
Baptisms, 1870-1937. FHL BRITISH Film 1546065
Marriages, 1870-1939. FHL BRITISH Film 1546066
Marriages, 1939-1956. Banns, 1950-1966. FHL BRITISH Film 1546067 Items 1 - 3
Bishop's transcripts for Seaforth, Great Crosby, and Waterloo Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston. Seaforth, Great Crosby and Waterloo are chapelries in the parish of Sefton, Lancashire.

Baptisms, 1840, 1855-1859, 1873-1877 (Seaforth); baptisms, 1749-1869 and burials, 1854-1869 (Great Crosby); baptisms 1841-1847, 1868- 1870 and marriages, 1870 (Waterloo). FHL BRITISH Film 1468974 Item 2

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306905.


Poor Law Unions

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 36-40. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 2,479 times.