Seal, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Seal, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Seal, Kent
Seal St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Seal St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654; For more records see Kemsing
Bishop's Transcripts: 1716
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - None
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Seal is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent Seal Kent Wikipedia

Seal St Peter and St Paul was formerly a chapelry in Kemsing, Kent Ancient Parish and only became an ecclesisatical parish in 1874; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

The church site contained a saxon church. The exact age of the present church, with its 15th Century ragstone tower, is unknown, but the granting of the right in the 13th Century to the Lord of the Manor to hold a fair on the festival of St Peter and St Paul suggests that it is at least 700 years old and may date from 1250. Of particular note is the 54 inch tall brass of the 13th Century Sir William de Bryene, a former Lord of Kemsing and Seal, and the sideboard made from the church rood screen which was dismantled during the Civil War for safe keeping.

The church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 51-59. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

From this parish was formed St Margaret Underriver See Underriver North West kent Family History Society St Margaret Underriver

The church of St Margaret Carter's Hill has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building  and Kent Churches website

See Seal North West Kent Family History Society and Seal St Peter and Saint Paul Seal St Lawrence



Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941 Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Seal, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Seal, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1716-1749, 1806-1864, 1896-1904
1716-1812

FS BTs 1716-1904 1716-1904 1716-1904
IGI 1561-1599 1562-1599, 1813-1837

Register of Baptisms 1965-present, Mariage register 1985-present Register of Burials 1925-present  and other 20th century registers remain in the parish.

Census records

Census returns for Seal 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

SEAL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of SevenOaks, hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Sutton-atHone, W. division of Kent, 2¼ miles (N. E.) from Seven-Oaks. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within reach of the Sevenoaks district, located adjacent to Orpington Station.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 36-40. Date accessed: 22 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,370 times.