Seamer with Cayton and East AytonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.pngNorth Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton

Guide to Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pickering-Lythe
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Scarborough PLU
Registration District Scarborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; Separate registers exist for Seamer St John the Baptist beginning 1684
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Seamer St John the Baptist beginning 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dickering
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.

Other places in the parish include: Seamer St John the Baptist, Cayton, Irton, Cayton with Deepdale and Killerby, East Ayton, and Cayton near Scarborough.


Non-Church of England denominations identified in Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton include: Primitive Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist.

SEAMER (St Martin), a parish, in the union of Scarborough, Pickering lythe, N. riding of York; containing, with the townships of East Ayton and Irton, 1121 inhabitants, of whom 625 are in Seamer township, 4½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Scarborough. This parish was annexed (united) with the parish of Cayton . There was also a chapel of ease built from at least the 14th century at East Ayton, called St John the Baptist . The Wesleyans have a place of worship here.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SEAMER WITH CAYTON AND EAST AYTON PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1710-1871

1710-1866, 1880-1881

1837

JOIN None

1813-1837
None

AC None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Seamer with Cayton and East Ayton page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 36-40. Adapted. Accessed: 16 Apr 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,406 times.