Sebastian County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Sebastian County

Guide to Sebastian County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Sebastian County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Sebastian County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 6, 1851
County Seat Fort Smith
Courthouse
Address Sebastian County Courthouse
35 S 6th;
Fort Smith, AR 72901
Phone: 501.782.5065

Contents

County Courthouse

Sebastian County Courthouse
35 S 6th;
Fort Smith, AR 72901
Phone: 501.782.5065

County Clerk has marriage records from 1865 and probate records from 1866; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Sebastian County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1865 1914* 1851 1861 1865
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

County seat: Fort Smith [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crawford  • Franklin  • LeFlore County, Oklahoma  • Logan  • Scott  • Sequoyah County, Oklahoma •
Sebastian CountyCrawford CountyMadison CountyNewton CountyFranklin CountyLogan CountyScott CountyPolk CountyYell CountySaline CountyWahsington CountyJohnson CountyPope CountyMontgomery CountyGarland CountyPerry CountySequoyah CountyLe Flore CountyARSebastian.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Episcopal

St. John's Episcopal Church, Fort Smith

  • 1860-1886 - St. John's Episcopal Church, Fort Smith Baptism Index 1860-1886. Batch C586781 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1860-1895 - St. John's Episcopal Church, Fort Smith Marriage Index 1860-1895. Batch M586781 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Fort Smith

  • 1868-1885 - First Lutheran Church, Fort Smith Baptism Index 1868-1885. Batch C586721 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1868-1895 - First Lutheran Church, Fort Smith Marriage Index 1868-1895. Batch M586721 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogy

  • Biographies from The History of Sebastian County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sebastian County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Sebastian County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sebastian County, Arkansas:

- 11th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 17th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Griffith's) (Confederate), Companies A, B, C and F
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dawson's) (Confederate)
- 34th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies D and G
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, C and D
- 51st Regiment, Arkansas Militia (Confederate)
- Witherspoon's Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate)
- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Union)
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Sebastian County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sebastian County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

  • Probate Records 1851-1922 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration accounts 1870-1892; Administration and guardian bonds 1891-1904; Administration and guardian dockets 1865-1885; Administration bonds 1861-1868; Bonds and letters 1872-1883; Dockets 1861-1864 and 1875-1886; Executors bonds and letters 1883-1910; Probate records 1851-1888; Wills 1902-1922.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1877-1913 - Sebastian County Birth Index 1877-1913. Batch C750707 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
Death
  • 1881-1919 - Sebastian County Death Index 1881-1919. Batch B750709 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1919-1929 - Sebastian County Death Index 1919-1929. Batch B750794 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb for Sebastian County] Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sebastian County Births and Deaths, 1877-1963 Free Search indexed information; images are not available.
Sites that search for links pertaining to Sebastian County, Arkansas
RootsWeb - Sebastian Co, Arkansas Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Sebastian County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission Arkansas state agency - describes Sebastian Co. microfilms and gives corresponding FHL film numbers
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Sebastian County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Sebastian County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Sebastian County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, CivilWar Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 14:55.
  • This page has been accessed 6,819 times.