Sedbergh, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England > Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-Y Gotoarrow.png West RidingGotoarrow.png Sedbergh

Guide to Sedbergh, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sedbergh, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Sedbergh PLU
Registration District Sedbergh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Lonsdale
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SEDBERGH (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, in the W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York; containing, with the chapelries of Dent, and Garsdale with Grisdale and Sedbergh, 10 miles (E.) from Kendal, in Westmorland, 77 (W. N. W.) from York, and 260 (N. W. by N.) from London.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

Resources

Cemeteries

Parish Records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Sedbergh exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[2]
 SEDBERGH PARISH (1594) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1606-1847

1594-1842

1595-1800

JOIN None

1595-1800

None

TGEN 1594-1800
1594-1800
1594-1800

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sedbergh to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sedbergh page.

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1595.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464273.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 40-44. Date accessed: 18 October 2013.
  2. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,560 times.