Sedgwick County, ColoradoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sedgwick County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sedgwick County, Colorado|
Location in the state of Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
|Founded||April 9, 1889|
|Address|| Sedgwick County Courthouse|
315 Cedar St
PO Box 50
Julesburg, CO 80737-0003
Sedgwick County Website
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1889;
Clerk District Court has divorce. probate and court records
|Beginning dates for major county records|
|*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries|
- 1889--Sedgwick County was created 9 April 1889 from Logan County.
- Cheyenne County, Nebraska
- Deuel County, Nebraska
- Keith County, Nebraska
- Perkins County, Nebraska
Business Records and Commerce
For tips on accessing Sedgwick County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for Sedgwick County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sedgwick County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Family History Centers
Julesburg Public Library
320 Cedar Street
Julesburg, CO 80737
Sedgwick County Genealogy Society
P. O. Box 86
Julesburg, CO 80737
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the Family History Library Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. 
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. 
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sedgwick County, Colorado. Page 101 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
- This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:45.
- This page has been accessed 3,077 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More