Sedgwick County, Kansas GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sedgwick County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Sedgwick County, Kansas|
Location in the state of Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
|Founded||February 26, 1867|
|Address|| Sedgwick County Courthouse|
525 N. Main Street
Wichita, Kansas 67203-3703
Sedgwick County, Kansas Record Dates
Sedgwick County Courthouse
525 N Main Street
Wichita, KS 67203
District Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1870.
District Civil Court has court records.
County Clerk has land records from 1887.
Community Health Deppartment (1900 E. 9th, Wichita, KS 67214)
has birth and death records. 
Current townships include: Afton, Attica, Delano, Eagle, Erie, Garden Plain, Grand River, Grant, Greeley, Gypsum, Illinois, Kechi, Lincoln, Minneha, Morton, Ninnescah, Ohio, Park, Payne, Riverside, Rockford, Salem, Sherman, Union, Valley Center, Viola, Waco, and Wichita.
 Historical Atlas of Sedgwick County, Kansas, published by John P. Edwards, 1882. The 1982 reprint has a 17 page index of names. http://www.kansasmemory.org/item/224001
 Standard Atlas of Sedgwick County, Kansas, Including a Plat Book of the Villages, Cities and Townships of the County, published by George A. Ogle and Company. http://www.kansasmemory.org/item/209421
BillionGraves: Each page has Google map, and searchable database of photographed headstones.
- Cheney Cemetery, Cheney
- Eldridge Cemetery, Union
- Harrington Cemetery, Conway Springs
- Highland Cemetery, Wichita
- Pleasant Ridge Cemetery, Goddard
- Ressurection Cemetery, Wichita
- Viola Cemetery, Viola
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Sedgwick County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.
- Early Township maps of Sedgwick County http://specialcollections.wichita.edu/wcf/townships/index.asp
- Township Map of 1887 Sedgwick County, Kansas with enlarged views of each township (My Genealogy Hound)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sedgwick County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Dr. Edward N. Tihen read and took notes from nearly every issue of Wichita's newspapers dating from 1872 to 1982. Presented as PDF documents are nearly 6000 transcribed pages of the "Tihen Notes," as they have become known. Dr. Tihen's notes reflect the people, places and events that have shaped Wichita's history.
Midwest Historical and Genealogical Society Library has three Indexes of the obituaries in scrapbooks in their library.
- Index of obituaries from The Wichita Eagle and Beacon for the period 1955 to 2014.
- Obituaries from the Catholic Advance for 1999.
- Miscellaneous obituaries which they have indexed.
The Wichita Photo Archives contains over 1,000 photographs of Wichita and Sedgwick County.
In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Sedgwick and click Probate records.
Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
- 1818 - 1936 Kansas, Births and Christenings, 1818-1936 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1885 - 1911 Kansas, Births and Christenings Index, 1885-1911 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1885 - 1930 Kansas, Deaths and Burials, 1885-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1885 - 1930 Kansas, Deaths and Burials, Index, 1885-1930 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1887 - 1910 Wichita, Sedgwick County, Kansas, Death Index, 1887-1910. Alphabetical index giving name and certificate number.
- 1840 - 1935 Kansas, Marriages, 1840-1935 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1855 - 1911 Kansas, County Marriages, 1855-1911 at Ancestry.com — images $
Societies and Libraries
Lawrence & Lucile Wulfmeyer Genealogy / Special Collections Center at the Wichita Public Library, 223 South Main Street, Wichita, Kansas, 67202. 316-261-8509. Open Monday through Thursday 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.; Friday and Saturday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.; and Sunday 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. Closed Sundays from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Closed major holidays. Contains over 25,000 genealogy books and magazines covering Kansas, the Great Plains, the Midwest, the South, the Colonial States, and Native Americans. Other major collections include: Dawes Rolls Applications, Draper Manuscripts, Germans to America, Italians to America, and the Barbour Collection. Over 15,000 rolls of microfilm cover the city's major newspapers, the Wichita Eagle and the Wichita Beacon, and state and federal census.
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Sedgwick County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sedgwick County, Kansas page 255, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 3 December 2015, at 17:38.
- This page has been accessed 10,023 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News