Selattyn, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Gotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Selattyn (Welsh: Selatyn) is the a rural village and parish near Oswestry in Shropshire, England, on the border with Wales. The parish includes the townships of Upper and Lower Brogyntyn (formerly crudely transliterated as Porkington), and also the hamlet of Hengoed.
Selattyn, Shropshire
St Mary the Virgin Selattyn Shropshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswestry
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Oswestry PLU
Registration District Oswestry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Oswestry
Diocese St Asaph
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1848 - SELATTYN (St. Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Oswestry, N. division of Shropshire, 3¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Oswestry. [1]

Close to Selattyn lies the ruined Castell Brogyntyn, constructed by the Welsh around the 12th Century. The castle is associated with Owain Brogyntyn, son of Madog ap Maredudd, the last king of a united Powys. The area only became part of Shropshire when it was annexed by England in the 16th Century. The original manor house of Brogyntyn was the residence of members of the dynasty of the Welsh kingdom of Powys and one of the taî'r uchelwyr ("houses of the gentry") in late medieval Wales. It subsequently came into the possession of the Ormsby-Gore family (the Lords Harlech).
An important collection of both Welsh and English manuscripts from Brogyntyn is held at the National Library of Wales in Aberystwyth. Some of the Brogyntyn Manuscripts have been digitised and made available on-line.

The parish of Selattyn originally formed part of the Welsh Diocese of St Asaph. However, following the disestablishment of the Anglican church in Wales in 1920, the parish was transferred to the English Diocese of Lichfield.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474587.

The parish of Selattyn formed part of the Oswestry Registrar's District.

Year Piece Folios
1841 HO107/916-5 5 to 49
1851 HO107/1933 263 to 300
1861    
1871    
1881    
1891    
1901    

Church Records

The following records of Selattyn are available on the IGI:

Type Years Batch Number
Baptisms 1813-1860 C018152
Marriages 1557-1812 M018151
Mixed 1557-1812 P018151
Mixed   E018151

Selattyn parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[3][4][5]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
SELATTYN PARISH (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1813-1860 (gaps)

BOYD
1559-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1557-1812
1557-1812
1557-1812
IGI 1557-1860 1557-1812
JOIN
1559-1812

MLOC 1557-1812
1557-1812
1557-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1662-1860 Marr 1662-1860 Bur 1662-1860

Hengoed registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Hengoed Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Civil Records

The parish of Selattyn formed a sub-district of the Oswestry Registration District and any entries for births, marriages or deaths from 1837 in Selattyn will appear as Oswestry in the GRO Indexes.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 44-48. Date accessed: 09 July 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
  7. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 22:39.
  • This page has been accessed 1,368 times.