Selborne, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Selborne

Guide to Selborne, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Selborne, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Selborne
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Alton PLU
Registration District Alton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1677
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SELBORNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Alton, hundred of Selborne, Alton and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Alton.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Selborne, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
SELBORNE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1562-1663
1557-1631, 1663-1672


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288790

Genealogy

Reeves, John A.  The Bridger Family of Selborne, Hampshire, and Bridger of Liss, Hampshire.  Two descendancy charts of Robert Bridger and james Bridger of Selborne, also Bridger of Liss, Hampshire, covering years 1567-1862. Family Trees to be found in the hampshire Family Historian, vol. 2 no. 1, pages 8-9, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h vol.2 & 3.

Williams, C. L. Sinclair.  The Wake Family of Selborne and Solent.  The history of Edward and Ann Collyn. Included are the names Baly, Bert, Merrett, Williams, Newlyn, de Bragboef, de Bohun, Stratton, Clare, de Quincy, de Bolny, and Baybof.  Article covers years 1269-1981, to be found in Hampshire Family Historian Magazine. vol.9, #2, 1982, pages 50-53. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Steadman, Rita.  Selborne Connection.  The history of Emma Hale who married Albert Josiah Webster in the middle of Queen Victoria's reign, no date given. History of the Hales some starting as early as 1579-1850's, in the article, to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XX11, part no. 1, May 1995, pages 25-26, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Reeves, J. A. A Short History of the Heighes Family of Hampshire. A history of the Heighes, de Heyes, Hayes, Heighes family starting from 1200-1870, including two Pedigree charts, with Seal of Andrew de Heyhes, c1250 and their Coats of Arms, various parishes of Headley, Kingsley, Selborne, E. Worldham. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian vol. 3, no.1, May 1976, pages 26-32. FAHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 44-48. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,348 times.