Selby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Selby

Guide to Selby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Selby, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Selby PLU
Registration District Selby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1746
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Selby
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SELBY (St. Mary and St. German), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York, 14½ miles (S. by E.) from York, and 177 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians; and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

Resources

Civil Registration

Church Records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Selby exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
SELBY PARISH (1664) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1860-1886
1838-1886

FMP 1688-1785 1688-1785 1653-1925 1653-1925 1689-1886 1689-1886
FS 1746-1901

1664,1676-1900

1776-1901

Cemeteries

Parish Records

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1579.

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464273.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 44-48. Date accessed: 18 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,940 times.