Selston with Underwood and Westwood, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Selston with Underwood and Westwood, Nottinghamshire
Selston St Helen Nottinghamshire.jpg
Selston St Helen Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

SELSTON (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 9 miles (S. W.) from Mansfield; containing, with the hamlets of Bagthorpe and Underwood.[1]


SELSTON WITH UNDERWOOD AND WESTWOOD, is an ecclesiatical parish in Nottinghamshire.[2]

Additional information:

Selston is an Ancient parish which includes: Bagthorpe, Westwood, and Underwood.

The Parish Church of  St Helen Selston has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Selston Wikipedia

From this parish developed:

The Parish church of St Michael and All Angels Church Lane Selston dating from 1890 and which has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Underwood St Michael and All Angels Nottinghamshire.jpg
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of Underwood St Michael and All Angels Underwood St Michael and All Angels The Parish Church of St Michael and All Angels Underwood has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The Churchyard contains the Pye Hill Colliery Headstock memorial which was dedicated by the Bishop of Sherwood the Rt. Reverend R. Darby on 28th September 1985


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Selston St Helen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
SELSTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1557-1900 Marriages 1557-1911 Burials 1558-1931 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1838

Selston St Mary (Westwood)

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1899-1948 Marriages 1903-1961 Burials 1899-1981

Underwood St Michael and All Angels

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1890-1977 Marriages 1897-1954 Burials 1890-1973
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Selston with Underwood and Westwood

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 00:44.
  • This page has been accessed 1,710 times.