Sennicotts, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Sennicotts, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sennicotts, Sussex
Chapel of St Mary Sennicotts West Sussex.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bosham
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westbourne PLU
Registration District Westbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: Not Known
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boxgrove
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SENNICOTTS, a chapelry in Funtington parish, Sussex; 2½ miles N W of Chichester railway station. Post-town, Chichester. The statistics are returned with the parish. S. House is the seat of Teesdale, Esq. The living is annexed to Funtington. The church is good.[1]

Sennicotts St Mary is an estate chapel for Sennicotts Estate which formed an Ecclesiastical Parish from Funtington, Sussex Ancient Parish from 1829-1930 when it was absorbed again by the Ancient Parish.

Sennicotts Wikipedia

Funtington Parish information

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sennicotts

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westbourne Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Funtington/

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date accessed: 30 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 September 2014, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 879 times.