Sequatchie County, TennesseeEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Tennessee Gotoarrow.png Sequatchie County


Sequatchie County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Sequatchie County (established 1857) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Tennessee
Online Records


Sequatchie County, Tennessee
Map
Boundary map of Sequatchie County, Tennessee
Map of Tennessee highlighting Sequatchie County
Location in the state of Tennessee
Map of the U.S. highlighting Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: December 9, 1857
County Seat Dunlap
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Quick Dates

Sequatchie County's civil records start the following years:[1]

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1881 1858  1881  1860  1858  1858 


County Courthouse

Sequatchie County Courthouse
 308 Cherry Street
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 423.949.2522 

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and probaterecords from 1858.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records.[2]


The county is situated in the Sequatchie Valley

Sequatchie County Courthouse
307 Cherry St.
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 1-423-949-3670

Sequatchie County Clerk
Birth, death,marriage and probate records
22 Cherry St.
P.O. Box 248
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 1-423-949-2522

Sequatchie County Register of Deeds
22 Cherry St.
P.O. Box 174
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 1-423-949-2512

Sequatchie County Clerk Master
Court records
22 Cherry St.
P.O. Box 1651
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 1-423-949-3670

Hours:
Mon.-Wed. and Fri. 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
Closed Thursdays

History

Middle Tennessee county in the Sequatchie Valley.

The county is named after a "Cherokee word believed to mean, opossum, he grins or runs."[3]

Parent County

1857--Sequatchie County was created 9 December 1857 from Hamilton County. Early records may be found under Hamilton County.
County seat: Dunlap [4]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[5] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[6] (female)

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses

Lost census: 1890

County records are complete.[7]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Brush Creek Center Point Dunlap Lone Oak
Cagle Daus Fredonia Maint Airy
Cartwright Delphi (hist.) Liberty

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Tnsequatchie.png

Getting Started

Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Sequatchie County biographies, census, court, family Bibles, family histories, marriage, military, and probate records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.

Research Guides

African American

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Tennessee African Americans

Cemeteries

Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation. 



The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:

Bibliography Online Gravestone Transcriptions Cemetery Gazetteers
FamilySearch Catalog Find A Grave Find A Grave list

TNGenWeb Cemetery Database ePodunk

USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project Access Genealogy list

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 2,120
1870 2,335 10.1%
1880 2,565 9.9%
1890 3,027 18.0%
1900 3,326 9.9%
1910 4,202 26.3%
1920 3,632 −13.6%
1930 4,047 11.4%
1940 5,038 24.5%
1950 5,685 12.8%
1960 5,915 4.0%
1970 6,331 7.0%
1980 8,605 35.9%
1990 8,863 3.0%
2000 11,370 28.3%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.
1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Sequatchie County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Sequatchie County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files and scanned images of census microfilm. [The USGenWeb Census Project®].

1860

  • Douthat, James L. 1860 Sequatchie County, Tennessee Census. Signal Mountain, Tennessee : James L. Douthat, 1983. FHL 976.877 X2d
  • Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. 1860 Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee. S.l.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 198-?. FHL 976.877 X2g 1860

1870

  • Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. United States Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee 1870. S.l.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 198-?. FHL 976.877 X2h

1880

  • Hobbs Norma Jean and Sarah A. Goins. United States Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee 1880. Dunlap, Tennessee : N. Hobbs & S. Goins, 1986. FHL 976.877 X2h 1880
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census Sequatchie County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler and Associates, 1994. FHL 976.877 X2s 1880

1910

  • Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. Sequatchie County, Tennessee, 1910 Census. S.l.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 1986. FHL 976.877 X2g 1910

1920

  • Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. 1920 Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee. Dunlap, Tennessee : Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 198-? . FHL 976.877 X2g 1920

Church

Court

Family Histories

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Sequatchie, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 5,000 entries.

  • Compendium of Local Biography Sequatchie County, Tn. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1997?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.877 D3c.
  • Douthat, James L. Sequatchie Families: Biographical Sketches of the Earlier Settlers of the Sequeatchie Valley of Tennessee. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: J.L. Douthat, 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 976.87 D3d.

Bibliography

Land

Local Histories

  • Raulston, J. Leonard and James Weston Livingood. Sequatchie: A Story of the Southern Cumberlands. Knoxville, Tenn.: University of Tennessee Press, 1974. FHL US/CAN Book 976.87 H2r.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War

  • Douthat, James L. Sequatchie Valley Revolutionary War Soldiers. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1999. FHL US/CAN Book 976.877 M2d.

War of 1812

  • Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1961):49-52. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. [Includes Sequatchie County pensioners (p. 52).]

Civil War

Civil War service men from Sequatchie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Sequatchie County.

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Sequatchie County:

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Sequatchie County click on the following city:

Occupations

  • Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at World Vital Records ($). Purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Sequatchie County.]
  • Tennesse Bureau of Agriculture, Statistics and Mines. Coal Mines and Mining--Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: A.B. Travel, 1883. Free digital copy.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:

Ansearchin' News
Genealogical articles with abstracts of Sequatchie County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.

Probate

The Sequatchie County Court and County Clerk have responsibility for probate records.

FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:

  • Wills, 1858-1968
  • Inventories, Wills, 1858-1895

Taxation

The original Sequatchie County Tax Books (1861-1891) are held at the County Courthouse. GSU microfilmed these records in 1969: FHL US/CAN Film 1012196.

The following Sequatchie County tax records have been abstracted:[8]

  • [1861] Goins, Sara and Paula Carle Bosch. "1861 Sequatchie County, Tennessee Tax List," available online, courtesy: TNGenWeb.

Vital Records

See also How to order Tennessee Vital Records or order electronically online.

Birth
Marriage

The original Sequatchie County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. The following Sequatchie County marriage records are microfilmed:

  • [1817-1995] Available at the TSLA. The first film of this series is avaialable for interlibrary loan.
  • [1858-1967] Available at the Family History Library. Some volumes are indexed.FHL 583153

The following Sequatchie County marriage records have been indexed:

  • 1858-1895 - Sequatchie County Marriage Index 1858-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[9]
  • 1858-1881 - Douthat, James L. Sequatchie County, Tennessee Marriages, 1854-1881 [i.e. 1858-1881]. Signal Mountain, Tennessee : J.L. Douthat, 1982.FHL 976.877 V2d
  • 1858-1922 - Goins, Sara A. Marriages of Sequatchie County, Tennessee, 1858-1922. Dunlap, Tennessee: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 1986.FHL 976.877 V2g
  • 1858-1874 - Marriage Records, 1858-1874, Sequatchie County, Tennessee.  Nashville: TSLA, Historical Records Project, 1940.  Typescript. FHL 24815 Item 5
  • 1858-1881 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1988. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
  • Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
  • Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($)  Be aware that this index is not complete for many counties.
  • [1858-1922] Marriage Records. [10]
Divorce

In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Sequatchie County divorce papers in diverse County Courthouse records, see:

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
Death

For deaths of Methodists in Sequatchie County (or what later became Sequatchie County) between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Tennessee Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Sequatchie County Public Library
227 Cherry St.
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 1-423-949-2357
Fax: 1-423-949-6619
Hours: Mon. 8 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
Tues. and Wed. 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Fri. 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m.
Sat. 8 a.m.-noon
The genealogy room will generally be available for research on Wednesdays,
but call the library before going to be sure it is open.

East Tennessee Historical Society
601 S. Gay St.
P.O. Box 1629
Knoxville, TN 37901-1629
Phone: 1-865-215-8824
E-mail: eths@east-tennessee-history.org

Web Sites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Sequatchie County, Tennessee

References

  1. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sequatchie County, Tennessee page 643, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 643. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Voice of Louise Lynch, Archivist, Williamson County, Tennessee Archives (2010).
  7. Robert M. McBride, Tennessee County Data (Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee States Library and Archives, 1966), 43.
  8. The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
  9. 9.0 9.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.
  10. Orem, Utah: Automated Archives, 1994. (Family History Library compact disc number 9 part 2.) Does not circulate to Family History Centers.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:48.
  • This page has been accessed 11,278 times.