Sequoyah County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png Sequoyah County

Sequoyah County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19
Sequoyah County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Sequoyah County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Sallisaw
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Sequoyah County Courthouse
120 E. Chickasaw Ave.
Box 8
Sallisaw, Oklahoma 74955
Phone: 918.775.4517

Contents

County Courthouse

Sequoyah County Courthouse
120 E Chickasaw Ave Box 8
Sallisaw, OK 74955
Phone: 918.775.4517 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907[1]

History

Parent County

1907--Sequoyah County was created 16 July 1907 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
County seat: Sallisaw [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Akins, Aqua Park, Baldridge, Black Gum, Blackjack, Box, Brushy, Copic Slab, Cottonwood, Foreman, Gans, Gore, Gore Landing, Hanson, Harrison, Liberty, Lone Oak, Long, Maple, Marble City, McKey, Moffett, Muldrow, Nicut, Notichtown, Paradise Hill, Paw Paw, Pinhook Corners, Redland, Reeder Ford, Remy, Roland, Sadie, Sallisaw, Seven Oaks, Shady Grove, Short, Vian, West Fort Smith

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Akins Cemetery, Peters Cemetery, Sallisaw City Cemetery, Vian Garden of Memories

Census

For tips on accessing Sequoyah County, Oklahoma census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sequoyah County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Muskogee and Northeastern Oklahoma: including the counties of Muskogee, McIntosh, Wagoner, Cherokee, Sequoyah, Adair, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Washington, Nowata, Craig, and Ottawa. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1922

Maps

Oksequoyah.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sequoyah County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

Stanley Tubbs Memorial Library, Sallisaw

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sequoyah County, Oklahoma. Page 562 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 5,947 times.