Shawano County, WisconsinEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wisconsin
Shawano County
Guide to Shawano County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Courthouse
Shawano County Courthouse
311 N Main Street
Shawano, WI 54166
Phone: 715.526.9150
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records;
Register in Pro has probate records [1]
Historical Facts
Parent County
1853--Shawano County was created 16 February 1853 from Oconto, Waupaca and Winnebago Counties.
County seat: Shawano [1]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
CITIES:
- Shawano (county seat)
- Marion (small portion, majority in Waupaca County)
- Pulaski (small portion, majority in Brown County)
VILLAGES:
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
- Shawano County Cemetery Project
- Find a Grave Shawano County Map Of Cemeteries
- Find a Grave Shawano County List Of Cemeteries
Census
Church History and Records
Lutheran
First Lutheran Church, Wittenberg
- Records of First Lutheran Church, Wittenberg, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Green Valley
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, Green Valley, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Court Records
Circuit and County Court case files from 1861-1952 are available at:
Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Online index available: http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/
Circuit Court Look-Up Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
Crime and Criminals
Directories
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
- Simple Township Map of Shawano County
- Gif Image of Shawano County, Shows Towns, Major Roads and Population Centers
- WIGenWeb A Large Selection of Maps
Migration
Military History and Records
Naturalization and Citizenship
Declarations of Intention and Naturalization Records from 1858-1949 are available at:
Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate Records
- Wisconsin, Probate Estate Files, 1848-1933 - includes Shawano county files from 1861-1933; via FamilySearch. As of 5/29/11 included images that can only be browsed, not searched.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Wisconsin Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Repositories
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
County Courthouse
Family History Centers
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Pre-1907 birth, marriage, and death registrations on microfilm are available at:
Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request forms available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
Voting Registers
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- WIGenWeb Shawano County
- USGenWeb Archives Shawano County
- Linkpendium Shawano County
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Wisconsin Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Wisconsin, Swanano and Oconto Counties, Indexes and Records form Shawano Family History Center (FamilySearch Historical Records)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Shawano Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2013, at 16:29.
- This page has been accessed 2,306 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
