Shawnee County, KansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Shawnee County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

United States Gotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Shawnee County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kansas
Online Records

Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Shawnee County, Kansas
Map
Map of Kansas highlighting Shawnee County
Location in the state of Kansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded August 30, 1855
County Seat Topeka
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Shawnee County Courthouse
200 SE 7th Street
Topeka, Kansas 66603-3922
Phone: 785.233.8200

Contents

County Courthouse

Shawnee County Courthouse
200 E 7th
Topeka, KS 66603
Phone: 785.233.8200

County Clerk has birth, marriage, and death records 1894-1911.
Probate Court has marriage records 1856-1906.
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1855. [1]

History

Parent County

1855--Shawnee County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Topeka [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ksshawnee.jpg

Resources

African American

Cox. Thomas C. Blacks in Topeaka, (Shawnee County) Kansas, 1865-1915. :a social history - Baton Rouge: Louisiana State university Press c.1982 236 p.  F689.T6 C69 1982

Biographies

All of the family biographies from the History of Shawnee County, Kansas and Representative Citizens (1905) by James L. King, published by Richmond & Arnold are available free online at My Genealogy Hound.

Cemeteries

The Topeka State Hospital, a publicly funded institution for the care and treatment of the mentally ill in Topeka, Kansas, was in operation from 1872 to 1997. For some, the grounds of the hospital became their final resting place. There is a searchable index to the 1157 individuals buried in the hospital cemetery. With only a few exceptions, individuals were buried without a headstone.

Because most individuals were buried in unmarked graves, hospital officials used a grid pattern and designated gravesites by their distance from stone markers placed at the end of each row. The 'Location' is the distance in feet and inches from the eastern marker west to the gravesite.

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Topeka

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Shawnee County, Kansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Shawnee County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Shawnee County, Kansas newspapers in online catalogs like:


Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library Newspaper Index. Click on "newspaper index". The keyword index contains articles, obituaries and events in the Topeka Capital Journal from 1989-1999.

Obituaries

Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library Obituaries Index. Click on "obituary index".  The Index  covers 1906-1935 and 1971 to the present.

Also, a considerable number of obituaries from 1936-1971 have been indexed.

Probate

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Shawnee and click Probate records.


Taxation

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Societies and Libraries

Shawnee County Historical Society website: http://skyways.lib.ks.us/orgs/schs/

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shawnee County, Kansas page 256, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 September 2014, at 16:46.
  • This page has been accessed 6,000 times.