Sheboygan County, Wisconsin GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Sheboygan County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Sheboygan County, Wisconsin|
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
|Founded||March 11, 1848|
|Address|| Sheboygan County Courthouse|
615 N 6th Street
Sheboygan, WI 53081
Sheboygan County Website
Sheboygan County Courthouse
615 N 6th Street
Sheboygan, WI 53081
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and
land records from 1872; County Courth has divorce,
court and naturalization records form 1850; Register in
Probate had probate records records form 1850 
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses
Places / Localities
Church History and Records
Crime and Criminals
- Manitowoc City Directory - 1875 |
- Sheboygan City Directory - 1875 | 1884 | 1886 | 1887-8 | 1889-90 | 1891-92 | 1893-94 | 1895-6 | 1897-8
- The farm journal illustrated rural directory of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (with a complete road map of the county) - 1918
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Volga Germans had many settlements in Sheboygan county. To find out more about Volga Germans click here. This site gives resources to help you with your Volga German research, including a mailing list to help you communicate with others in the same ethnic group. They have indexed and made searchable over 100,000 names. You can search by name or village name and the search leads you to sites where that name or village can be found.
Archives, Libraries, and Museums
- History of Sheboygan County (1898)
Portrait and biographical record of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county, together with biographies and portraits of all the presidents of the United States and the governors of the state of Wisconsin (1894)
- History of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin, past and present (1921) - Volume 1 (Index) | Volume 2 (Index)
- Historic Sheboygan County (1975)
Land and Property
- An illustrated historical atlas of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (1875)
- Illustrated historical atlas of Sheboygan County (1902)
- Atlas of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (1916)digicoll.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/WI/WI-idx
- Atlas of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (1920)
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
- Family Maps of Sheboygan County, Wisconsin (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Simple Map of Sheboygan County Townships
- Download PDF Map of Sheboygan County - Wisconsin DOT, shows roads and townships.
Military History and Records
Civil War service men from Sheboygan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Sheboygan County.
- - 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- - 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Companies B and F
- - 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- - 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company A
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Sheboygan Press -- $ ancestry.com requires subscription
- Various -- Sheboygan Press Telegram,The Sheboygan Daily Press. Daily Press (Sheboygan, Wisconsin) , The Sheboygan Mercury -- $ ancestry.com requires subscription
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Vital Records Indexes - Rootsweb Freepages
In the Wisconsin birth index Sheboygan County births are listed as St Croix.
- 1826 - 1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1826 - 1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1836 - 1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1973 - 1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry.com — index/images $
- 1867 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1835 - 1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1820 - 1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1959 - 1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch.org — index
- Sheboygan County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Wis Gen Web Sheboygan County
- Wis Gen Web Archives Sheboygan County
- Sheboygan County Historical Research Center
- Sheboygan County Page - rootsweb
- ancestry.com Sheboygan County Search -- $ requires subscription -- currently mostly newspapers
- Sheboygan County Links -- linkpendium
- Sheboygan County Links -- Cyndi's List -- Search for or scroll down to "Sheboygan"
- Sheboygan County Links -- Live Roots
- Sheboygan County Links -- Genealogy Trails
- Sheboygan County Links -- Histopolis -- Nice Cemetery Listing
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 St Croix Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 27 March 2015, at 15:03.
- This page has been accessed 13,100 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News