Sheen, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Sheen, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheen, Staffordshire
Sheen St Luke Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Leek PLU
Registration District Leek
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alstonfield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sheen is an Ancient Parish.

SHEEN, a parish, in the union of Leek, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 10 miles (E. by N.) from Winster. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Sheen St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[2]
SHEEN PARISH (1660) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1660-1852
1660-1852

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1595-1991 Mar 1595-1996 Bur 1595-1939
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1851 Mar 1660-1852 Bur 1660-1852



Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474631.

Poor Law Unions

Leek Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Sheen/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-66. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  3. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,385 times.