Sheepstor, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngDevon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Sheepstor, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheepstor, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Roborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tavistock PLU
Registration District Tavistock
Records begin
Parish registers: 1691; For more records see Bickleigh (near Plymouth)
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tamerton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHEEPSTOR, a parish, in the union of Tavistock, hundred of Roborough, Midland-Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 7 miles (S. E. by E.) from Tavistock. The parish comprises 3469 acres, of which 2550 are common or waste land.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sheepstor, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Sheepstor, Devon Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1610-1837

FMP
Undefined

IGI 1610-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241319.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-66. Date accessed: 31 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,394 times.