Sheerness, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Sheerness, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Sheerness, Kent
Sheerness Holy Trinity Kent.jpg
Sheerness Holy Trinity Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Sheppey Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sheppey PLU
Registration District Sheppey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: 1836
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sheerness Holy Trinity is an Ecclesisatical Parish formed in 1851 from a former chapelry in Minster in Sheppey, Kent Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Marine Town, Banks Town, Blue Town, and Mile Town.

The church was originally built in 1835 and 1836 by G.L.Taylor from stock brick. The church has been designated grade C by English Heritage.

The dockyard church of St Paul Blue Town is within the parish. The parish was divided by order in Council dated 25 March 1873 The church was damaged by fire in 1881 and again a century later and is now ruined.

Dockyard Church Bluetown Sheerness Kent.jpg


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

SHEERNESS, a sea-port, market-town, and chapelry, in the parish of Minster, union of Sheppy, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the liberty of the Isle of Sheppy, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 21 miles (N. E.) from Maidstone, and 50 (E. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Roman Catholics; and a synagogue. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Sheerness, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1836-1900 1851-1900 1836-1894

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306869.

See Kent Census

Genealogy

Fletcher, John S.  A Portsea Connection.  History and family tree of John Fletcher 1809-1895 and Sarah Ansell 1805-1848.  The Fletchers of Sheerness, Kent and South London and their maritime link with Portsea.  Photo of John George Fletcher 1857*1949 and Mary Ann Margaret Pritchard, 1857-1945. Photo of Arthur Henry Jennings Read 1860-1930 and some of the family named, outside his shop at 94 Essex Rd. Islington, about 1914.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 15, part no. 4, Feb 1989, pages 256-260, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Genealogy

Fletcher, John S.  A Portsea Connection.  History and Family Tree of John Fletcher 1809-1895 and Sarah Ansell 1805-1848.  Fletchers of Sheerness, Kent and South London, and their Maritime link with Porsea, photo of John George Fletcher 1857-1949, and Mary Ann Margaret Pritchard 1857-1945, also of Arthur Henry Jennings Read 1860-1930 and some of the family named outside his shop at 94 Essex Road, Islington, about

1914. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol.   part 4. February 1989, pages 256-260, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Poor Law Unions

Sheppey Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-66. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 September 2014, at 20:19.
  • This page has been accessed 2,340 times.