Sheffield, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Sheffield

Guide to Sheffield St Peter and St Paul, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheffield, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Sheffield PLU
Registration District Ecclesall Bierlow; Sheffield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

"SHEFFIELD (St. Peter), a borough and parish, and the head of a union, partly in the N., but chiefly in the S., division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York and the township of Sheffield, 55 miles (S. W. by S.) from York.and 163 (N. N. W.) from London. [1] Sheffield St Peter is an ancient parish, erected in the reign of Henry I.

A Complete List of Sheffield Parish and Chapels

Sheffield had the following parish and chapels attached to it, all lying within its jurisdiction and boundaries as of 1880: Sheffield St. George's Church - 1824

Sheffield St. James Chapel - 1788 (FHL has from 1828 to 1830 only)

Sheffield St. John, Park-Hill - 1837 Sheffield St Matthias Carver-Street - 1877

Sheffield St. Mary's Church, Brammall-lane - 1830

Sheffield St Peter - 1560

Sheffield St. Paul's Chapel - 1720 (FHL has from 1793 to 1825 only)

Sheffield St. Philip Church - 1827

Sheffield St Stephen - 1858

The following district churches and chapels were built within Sheffield parish and they include the following: 

Attercliffe - 1694

Brightside All Saint - 1869

Brightside St Thomas - 1846

Carbrook -1874

Crookes - 1840

Darnall - 1844

Dyers-Hill - 1865

Ecclesall-Bierlow - 1784

Eldon St Jude - 1846

Fulwood - 1838

Gleadless - 1839

Grimesthorpe - 1854

Heeley - 1848

Highfield - 1877

Holliscroft - 1852

Lydgate - 1788 - lies in West Yorkshire but partly in Rochdale Parish, Lancashire.

Neepsend - 1867


Olerton - 1858

Pitsmoor - 1846

Wicker - 1847

Walkley - 1869

In the town are eleven places of worship for various denominations of Methodists, six for Independents, and one each for Baptists, Quakers, 9 Roman Catholics - 1781

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Cemeteries

Parish Records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Sheffield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SHEFFIELD PARISH (1560) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1653-1686

1653-1686

1653-1686

FREG 1560-1635, 1653-1687, 1720-1752 1560-1634, 1653-1686, 1720-1736 1635-1653, 1703-1735
FS 1561-1910

1562-1882,1910-1912

1719-1720, 1778-1788

IARC 1560-1653

1560-1653

1560-1634

JOIN None
1561-1736

None

This ancient parish was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1560 for Sheffield, Cathedral Church of St. Peter and St. Paul.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464280.

Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites 

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 58-66.
  2. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 3,242 times.