Sheffield St Paul, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Sheffield St Paul)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Sheffield St. Paul

Guide to Sheffield St Paul, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheffield St Paul, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Sheffield PLU
Registration District Ecclesall Bierlow; Sheffield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1768
Bishop's Transcripts: 1824
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHEFFIELD ST PAUL is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1833 from Sheffield [St Peter and St Paul] Ancient Parish; located on Pinstone Street. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Sheffield, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Christians, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, General Baptist, Independent/Congregational, Irvingite/Catholic Apostolic Church, Jewish, Methodist New Connexion, Particular Baptist, Presbyterian Unitarian, Protestant Dissenters, Roman Catholic, Society of Friends/Quaker, Unitarian, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Association.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sheffield St Paul exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SHEFFIELD ST PAUL PARISH (1855) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1826, 1839-1910

1715-1867, 1880-1882

1719, 1814-1815

JOIN None

1561-1736

None

AC 1687-1703

1687-1703

1653-1686


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sheffield St. Paul to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sheffield St. Paul page.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464280.

Occupations

Transcribed by Nottinghamshire Family History Society.  Nottinghamshire Boys Apprenticed to Cutlers in Hallamshire.  This article gives an alphabetical list of apprentices, their parents names, and occupation, and the name of the person they were apprenticed to, occupation, the number of years and the date, starting in 1618-1858, taken from Leader, Robert Eadon, "The Company of Cutlers in Hallamshire in the County of York".

Available in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 107, pages 1-13, FHL Ref942.52 D25n

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,122 times.