Shelburne Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Virginia  Gotoarrow.png  Shelburne Parish

Contents

History

Shelburne Parish has served Loudoun County, Virginia.

Founded

Boundary

Resources

Ministers

  • Moore, J. Staunton. The Annals and History of Henrico Parish, Diocese of Virginia: and St. John's P.E. Church. 1904, pp. 165-169. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($). [Biography of Rev. Dr. David Griffith, minister of Shelbourne Parish in 1770s.]

Parish History

Meade's 1861 history of Shelburne Parish is available online.[2]

  • Hopkins, Margaret Lail and Nancy Hopkins Phillips. The Anglican Parishes of Loudoun County, Virginia, Truro, Cameron, and Shelburne, 1736-1805. Lovettsville, Virginia: Willow Bend Books, 1997. Available at FHL. Free Lookups Available!

Parish Records

Colonial parish registers have been lost.

Vestry Books

The original Shelburne Parish Vestry Book (1771-1805) is kept at the Library of Virginia. A microfilm copy is available at the Thomas Balch Library, Leesburg, Va. They were published in Hopkins' history (see above).

References

  1. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
  2. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:17.
  • This page has been accessed 2,928 times.