Shelby County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Shelby County

Guide to Shelby County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Shelby County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Shelby County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded June 23, 1792
County Seat Shelbyville
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representatives
Shelby Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Shelby County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Shelby County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth*
Marriage
Death*
Census
Deeds
Wills
1852
1792
1852
1810
1792
1794
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Shelby County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG
 

Shelby County Courthouse
501 Main Street
Shelbyville, KY 40065-1133
Phone: 502.663.4410[1]

Shelby County Kentucky History

Isaac Shelby.JPG

The county is named after Kentucky's First Governor Isaac Shelby (1750-1826).[2]

Parent County

1792--Shelby County was created 23 June 1792 from Jefferson County.
County seat: Shelbyville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

Shelby County Kentucky Places/Localities

Populated Places

Bagdad Finchville Lincoln Ridge Shelbyville
Chestnut Grove Flat Rock (hist.) Middletown Heights Simpsonville
Christianburg Graefenburg Montclair Southville
Clay Village Harrisonville Mulberry Sunnyside (hist.)
Colletts (hist.) Hatton North Benson Hills (hist.) Todds Point
Conner Hemp Ridge Old Christianburg Veachland
Consolation Hooper Olive Branch Veech
Cropper Jacksonville Peytona Veechdale
Defoe Joyes Pleasureville Waddy
Elmburg Junte Raymond Hill
Figgs L S Park

Neighboring Counties

Shelby County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kyshelby.png

African American Research

The following have information concerning African American research. 

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 8,191
1810 14,877 81.6%
1820 21,047 41.5%
1830 19,030 −9.6%
1840 17,768 −6.6%
1850 17,095 −3.8%
1860 16,433 −3.9%
1870 15,733 −4.3%
1880 16,813 6.9%
1890 16,521 −1.7%
1900 18,340 11.0%
1910 18,041 −1.6%
1920 18,532 2.7%
1930 17,679 −4.6%
1940 17,759 0.5%
1950 17,912 0.9%
1960 18,493 3.2%
1970 18,999 2.7%
1980 23,328 22.8%
1990 24,824 6.4%
2000 33,337 34.3%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Shelby County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Shelby County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Shelby County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Shelby County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[6] digitized by Ancestry ($).

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Shelby County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Shelby County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records. See also How to order Kentucky Vital Records


Birth
  • 1852-1862 - Shelby County Birth Index 1852-1862. Batch C517961 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
  • 1869, 1874-1875 - Shelby County Birth Index 1869, 1874-1875. Batch C517962 at FamilySearch - free.[7]
Marriage
  • 1795-1878 - Shelby County Marriage Index 1795-1878. Included on several batches at FamilySearch - free.[7]
Unsorted

Shelby County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Shelby County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Shelby County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shelby County, Kentucky page 275, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  6. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/7/75/Igikentuckymz.pdf.
  8. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 18:27.
  • This page has been accessed 13,878 times.