Shelby County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Shelby County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Shelby County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Shelby County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Shelby County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Shelby County Courthouse
129 East Court St.
Sidney, Ohio 45365
Shelby County Website
United States Gotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Shelby County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1867
1824
1867

1819
1825
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Miami County in 1819.
  • County Seat: Sidney
     



Neighboring Counties

Mercer County  • Auglaize County  • Logan County  • Champaign County  • Miami County  • Darke County


Shelby CountyPreble CountyMontgomery CountyChampaign CountyLogan CountyAuglaize CountyVan Wert CountyAllen CountyHardin CountyClark CountyMiami CountyDarke CountyMercer CountyOHShelby.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Miami Valley Genealogy Index is an Index to more than a half million pointers to records all over Miami Valley including Shelby County.

History

Isaac Shelby.JPG

Local histories are available for Shelby County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

The county is named after Kentucky's First Governor Isaac Shelby (1750-1826).[1]

Local Histories
  • A History of the Communities of Shelby County, Ohio, (Sidney, Ohio: printed for Citizens Baughman National Bank, 1976). FHL book 977.145 H2a

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Shelby County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohshelby.jpg

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Shelby County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Shelby County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Shelby County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Shelby County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Shelby County Courthouse
129 E Court Street PO Box 809
Sidney, OH 45365
Phone: 937.498.7221

Clerk Court has court records from 1819; Probate Judge has birth,
marriage, death and probate, records from 1825; County Recorder
has land records from 1819[3]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Shelby County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of decease{{Template:OH d.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Shelby County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Web Sites


Places

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

References

  1. "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shelby County, Ohio. Page 545 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 October 2014, at 21:28.
  • This page has been accessed 5,471 times.