Shelby County, Tennessee GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Shelby County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Shelby County (established 1819) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Shelby County, Tennessee|
Location in the state of Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded||November 24, 1819|
|Address|| Shelby County Courthouse|
160 N. Main St.
Memphis, TN 38103
|Named for: Isaac Shelby|
Shelby County Courthouse
150 Washington Street
Memphis, TN 38103
County Health Departmetn has birth, death, and burial;
County Clerk has marriage records from 1820;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records;
Probate Judge has probate records;
General Sessions Court has court records;
Register of Deeds has land records 
West Tennessee county.
Shelby County's civil records start the following years:
.*Memphis births begin in 1874, Shelby County births begin in 1881
†Deed index only
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Shelby County Health Department
Birth and death records
814 Jefferson Ave., Room 101 - 103
Memphis, TN 38105
Shelby County Clerk
150 Washington Ave.
Memphis, TN 38103
Shelby County Register of Deeds
1075 Mullins Station Rd, Suite W165
Memphis, TN 38134
Shelby County Probate Court Clerk
140 Adams Ave., Room 124
Memphis, TN 38103
Shelby County Circuit Court Clerk
140 Adams Ave.,Room 324
Memphis, TN 38103
Mon.- Fri. 8 a.m.-4:15 p.m.
For a list of record loss in Tennessee counties see: Tennessee Counties with Burned Courthouses
- Lost census: 1890
- County records are virtually complete 
Use the free Search for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Shelby County newspaper, tax, and WPA records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Shelby County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
- Cunningham, Rose-Anne. "Shelby County, Tennessee: A Partial Bibliography," available online, updated 2009. [Don't forget to check all four web pages.]
- Nazor, Mary Louise. Genealogical Sources Available for Shelby County in Memphis, Tennessee. Memphis, Tenn.: Memphis/Shelby Co. Public Library and Information Center, 198-?. FHL Collection FHL US/CAN Book 976.819 A3n.
- National African American Photographic Archive - from the University of Memphis
- Hamilton, G.P. The Bright Side of Memphis: A Compendium of Information Concerning the Colored People of Memphis, Tennessee, Showing Their Achievements in Business, Industrial and Professional Life and Including Articles of General Interest on the Race. Memphis, Tenn.: G.P. Hamilton, 1908. Digital version at Google Books. [A who's who of African Americans in Memphis, including biographical sketches.]
- Hughes, Louis. Thirty Years a Slave. From Bondage to Freedom. The institution of slavery as seen on the plantation and in the home of the planter. Milwaukee : South Side Printing Company, 1897. Free digital copy, courtesy: Internet Archive.
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. [Includes free African Americans in this county.]
The Runaway Slave Blog is a free online resource where runaway slaves listed in pre-1865 West Tennessee newspapers are identified. The runaway ads appeared in several Memphis newspapers.
Tennessee cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
The Tennessee Cemeteries page provides explanations of the following online resources:
|Bibliographies||Online Gravestone Transcriptions||Cemetery Gazetteers|
|FamilySearch Catalog||Find A Grave | national search | county list||ePodunk|
|WorldCat||TNGenWeb Cemetery Database|
|USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project|
- Memorial Park South Woods Cemetery, Memphis BillionGraves
- Zion Community Project - restoration of the African-American Zion Cemetery
|Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.|
- Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
- Shelby County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
- Presley, Mrs. Leister E. Census, Lawrence, Perry, Shelby Counties, Tennessee, 1820. Searcy, Arkansas: Presley, 198-?. FHL 976.8 X2p 1820
- Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website. Includes free African Americans in this county.
- WorldCat 2648500 A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Western District, Shelby County on page 159.]
- Green, Linda L. Tennessee 1850 Agricultural Census. 2 vols. Woodbridge, Va.: L.L. Green, 2000. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.8 X2g v. 1] ff. [Shelby County is included in Vol. 2.]
- Sistler, Samuel D. 1880 census, Shelby Co., Tennessee: head-of-household index Nashville, Tennessee: Byron Sistler and Associates, 2003 FHL Collection US/CAN book 976.819 X22]
Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 4 1891. [Shelby County is included in Vol. 4.]
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890].
The Shelby County Register of Deeds a Chancery Court Divorce Index and the Circuit Court Indexes online.
The Shelby Courty Register of Deeds has Memphis city directories on-line for many years beginning with 1859 to 1901.
Additional Memphis city directory resources include:
-  Weatherbe, C.F. Sholes Directory of the Taxing District of Memphis, Shelby County, Tenn. 1883, Volume 10.Memphis, Tenn.: Rogers & Co. Book and Job Printers and Publishers, 1883. Digital version at Google Books. (F)
-  Dow's Memphis Directory, 1890. Memphis, Tenn.: Dow's, 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
-  Dow's Memphis Directory, 1891. Memphis, Tenn.: Dow's 1891. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
-  R.L. Polk and Co.'s 1909 Memphis City Directory: Containing an Alphabetically Arranged List of Business Firms and Private Citizens, Street, Avenue and Householders' Guide, Miscellaneous Directory, City and County Officers, Terms of Court, Churches, Colleges and Schools, Public Parks and Buildings, Banks, Railway and Steamship Lines, Secret, Benevolent, Trade and Social Organizations, etc., etc., etc., and a Complete Classified Business Directory. Memphis, Tenn.: R.L. Polk and Co., 1909. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- [Doss] Descendant of Parker S. Doss, b. abt 1768 Cumberland County, Virginia, resident of Shelby County, Tennessee in 1830, d. 1855 Fannin County, Texas. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 42897). Genetic signature available online (labeled Ju-1), genealogical description available online, courtesy: The Doss DNA Project, World Families. Matches have been found.
- [Doss] Descendant of Samuel H. Doss, b. 1803 Virginia, resident of Shelby and Moore counties, Tennessee; Illinois; and Madison County, Arkansas. Y-DNA 37 Marker Test, FTDNA (Kit 85939). Genetic signature available online (labeled Sh-1), genealogical description available online, courtesy: The Doss DNA Project, World Families. Matches have been found.
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Rootsweb Mailing Lists:
- Mailing List: SW-TN-L (Southwest Tennessee List) (Shelby)
- Mailing List: TNSHELBY-L (Shelby County, Tennessee List) (Shelby)
- Mailing List: WEST-TNCHAT-L (West Tennessee Chat List) (Shelby)
- Mailing List: WESTTN-L West Tennessee List) (Shelby)
- Shelby County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Shelby County, TN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Shelby, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 30,000 entries. A query for persons born in Memphis, Tennessee results in more than 29,000 entries.
- Cargill, Bernice Taylor and Brenda Bethea Connelly. Settlers of Shelby County, Tennessee and Adjoining Counties. Memphis, Tenn.: Descendants of Early Settlers of Shelby County, Tennessee, 1989. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.819 H2c.
- Matthews, Paul A. Early Families of the Memphis Area: Profiles of 135 Families of Fayette, Shelby and Tipton Counties in Tennessee, Crittenden County, Arkansas and DeSoto and Marshall Counties in Mississippi: With Historical Time Lines and Photogrpahs of Those Counties. Memphis, Tennessee: Descendants of Early Settlers of Shelby and Adjoining Counties, 2008. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976 D2m].
- [Baskerville] Baskerville, P. Hamilton (Patrick Hamilton), 1848 - 1925. Genealogy of the Baskerville Family and Some Allied Families Including the English Descent from 1266 A.D. Richmond: W.M. Ellis Jones' Sons, Inc. 1912. Digital version at Internet Archive.
- [Bland] Gottschalk, Kathrine Cox. Bland Family of Pitt County, North Carolina and of Shelby County, Tennessee. 1940. FHL Collection US/CAN Film 858784 Item 12].
- [Bonner] Bonner, Kathryn R. The Bonner Family Record: This Record is Primarily of the Bonners of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia, Those that Went to Wilson, Madison and Shelby Counties, Tennessee, and Those that Went on to Phillips County, Arkansas: Today the Descendants are Spread into Many States. Marianna, Ark.: K.R. Bonner, 1979. FHL Collection FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 3414].
- [Ellis] Angevine, Erma Miller. Ellis, Taylor and Certain Related Families: Ancestors and Descendants of Clyde Taylor Ellis. Chevy Chase, Md.: C.T. Ellis, 1979. FHL Collection FAM HIST Book 929.273 A1 no. 4874.
- [Irby] Turner, W. R. Notes Concerning the Irby Family. Blackstone, VA: Nottoway Pub. Co., 1930. Available at Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online (LAR).
- [Jacks] Skinner, Eugene Elam. The Ancestry of Carolyn Call Skinner. [Dallas, Texas?]: E.E. Skinner, [1950?]. FHL Collection FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sk34s.
- [Land] Bliss, Callie Crosby and Sebrina Land Heard Hildebrant Hawley Grace. Sebrina Land: December 2, 1836, Shelby County, Tennessee - May 27, 1908, Milford, Beaver, Utah. Wellsville, Utah: C.C. Bliss, 1991. FHL Collection FAM HIST Book 921.73 A1 no. 682.
- [Person] Walker, George Fuller. Persons Lineage. Unknown: G. W. Walker, 1951. Available at FHL Collection FAM HIST Large Q Book 929.273 P432w ▲ US/CAN Film 973017 Item 1; digital version at Heritage Quest Online (LA).
- [Rootes] Rootes, T.R. "The Rootes Family," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Oct. 1896):204-211. Digital version at JSTOR - free.
- [Stephenson] Stephenson, J. C. The Stephenson Family. Nashville, TN: The author, 1906. Available at FHL Collection US/CAN Film 823660 Item 3; digital version at Heritage Quest Online (LAR).
- [Thurman] Thurman, John P.; John P. and Sallie Ecklin Thurman Papers1884-1896. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Department, Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Free digital copy.
- [Wharton] Wharton, Richard. Richard Wharton papers, 1863 - 1906. Book contributor: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A diary, letters and other writings including his service in the Confederate Army , letters relating to family matters, a genealogy of the Wharton family, poems and speeches. Free digital copy, courtesy: Internet Archive.
- [Woodbury] Woodbury, Harry and Peter F. Woodbury. The John C. Woodbury and Thomas Notgrass Families of West Tennessee, 1830-1982. Gulfport, Miss.: H. Woodbury, 1982. FHL Collection FAM HIST Book 929.273 W852wha.
- Williams, Joseph R. The Builders of the Pyramid; the story of Shelby County: its Resources and Developments. Memphis: De Garis Printing Company, 1897. Free digital copy.
Land and Property
- Search the online Shelby County Deed Register to determine if an ancestor owned land in this area. Once you locate an ancestor in the deed records, you can contact the Shelby County Courthouse to order the land records or examine the microfilm copies of these records at the Family History Library. Land records may contain details about an ancestor. Also, if an ancestor owned land, they may have willed that land to family member, so remember to check Wills and Estate Records in Shelby County as well.
150 Washington Ave. Memphis, TN 38103 Phone: (901) 545-4244 Fax: (901) 545-3779 Hours of Operation: M-F, 8 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
- The Family History Library does not have microfilmed deed records for Shelby County Tennessee. However it does have: books of estrays 1875-1886, 1896-1944
Circuit Court minutes 1837-1894
Land grants 1788-1827
Entry books 1836-1849
Survey books 1821-1889;
Tax records 1846-1896.
Law and Legislation
Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. [In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service.] TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.
Other Shelby County law and legislation resources include:
- Dupree, L.J. A Digest of the Ordinances of the City Council of Memphis, from the Year 1826 to 1857: Together with All Acts of the Legislature of Tennessee which Relate Exclusively to the City of Memphis, with an Appendix. Memphis, Tenn.: Printed at the Office of the Memphis Bulletin Company, 1857. Digital version at Google Books.
- Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
-  Ruger, A. Bird's Eye View of the City of Memphis, Shelby County, Tennessee. Originally published 1870. Free digital version at American Memory; purchase a high-quality reproduction at ReevesMaps.com.
-  Henry Wellge & Co. Perspective Map of the City of Memphis, Shelby County, Tennessee. Originally published 1887. Free digital version at American Memory; purchase a high-quality reproduction at ReevesMaps.com.
-  Cram's Universal Atlas of the World. A City Map of Memphis, Tennessee. Originally published 1894. Free digital version at WardMaps LLC; purchase a high-quality reproduction at ReevesMaps.com.
-  Viking Press for WPA. A Map of Memphis. Originally published 1939. Purchase at ReevesMaps.com; website includes a scaled-down version of the map.
Military History and Records
The following Shelby County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:
Additional resources include:
- WorldCat 2648500 A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL Collection FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; US/CAN Film 2321]. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Western District, Shelby County on page 159.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry ($). Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. [Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.]
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. [Includes Shelby County pensioners (p. 95).]
Civil War service men from Shelby County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Shelby County.
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company C
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company F
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company G
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company D
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company H
- - 1st Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Butler's) (1st Regulars), Company H
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Heavy Artillery (Jackson's) - CSA
- 1st/27th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - CSA - 1st Battalion of the Second Tennessee Cavalry was organized at Nashville.
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company E.
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Robison's) (Walker Legion) - CSA
- 2nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Walker's) (Irish Regiment) - CSA
- 3rd Battalion, Tennessee Infantry (Memphis Battalion), Local Defense - CSA
- 4th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Neely's) - CSA - Companies A, C, D and H.
- 7th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Duckworth's) - CSA - Companies A, C and K.
- 9th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies E and I.
- 12th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Green's) - CSA - Companies D, E and 2nd K.
- 12th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
- 13th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
- 15th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - CSA - Company I.
- 15th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies B, C, F, 2nd F, H, I and K, Captain Ed. S. Pickett's Company (withdrew) Captain Chas. E. Ross' Company.
- 16th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Logwood's) - CSA - Companies D, G, H, I and K.
- 21st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies A, B, D, E, F, G, H and I.
- 22nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company A.
- 22nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Freeman's) - CSA - Company A formerly H; The Attakapas Rifles
- 34th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (4th Confederate Infantry) - CSA - Company H.
- 38th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Looney's) (8th Infantry) - CSA - Companies A, B, D, F, G, H, I, J, K and 2nd Company L.
- 51st Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry- CSA - Companies C and I.
- 51st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
- 52nd Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
- 154th Senior Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (1st Tennessee Volunteers) - CSA - Companies A, B, C, D, E, F and G.
- 1st Battalion, Tennessee Light Artillery - Organized at Memphis, Nashville and Knoxville
- 1st Regiment, Tennessee Heavy Artillery (African Descent) - Organized at Memphis.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Shelby County:
- Lynn, H.M. H.M. Lynn Papers, 1858-1882. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Dept., Wilson Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.; Free digital copy.; 9th Tennessee Regiment, Company C.
- Morton, John Watson. The Artillery of Nathan Bedford Forrest's Cavalry, "the Wizard of the Saddle". Nashville, Tennessee: Publishing House of the M.E.Church, 1909. Free digital copy.
- Mathes, J. Harvey. The Old Guard in Gray - Sketches of Memphis Veterans Who Upheld Her Standard in the War, and of Other Confederate Worthies. (illustrated) Memphis, Tennessee Press of S.C. Toof and Co., 1897. Free digital copy.
- Thurman, John P. John P. and Sallie Ecklin Thurman Papers1884-1896. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Department, Wilson Library, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Tennessee 3rd and 4th Calvary. Free digital copy.
- USGenWeb Archives, Shelby County Tennessee Archives, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Civil War Records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications : Shelby County, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for ... (Washington Printing Office; 1883), (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Online at Internet Archive. Shelby County, page 375-377.
- TNGenWeb, Shelby County Military Links, (accessed 1 Feb 2012).
- CWSAC, Battle Summaries, Collierville, Memphis 1862, and Memphis 1864, (accessed 1 Feb 2012). Located in Shelby County.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Shelby County
- Map showing Civil War battles in Tennessee.
Naturalization and Citizenship
The Shelby County Register of Deeds has naturalization records on-line for the years 1856-1906.
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Shelby County click on the following cities or towns:
Other Newspaper Resources
- 1876: Genealogical Tidbits from the Memphis Daily Appeal
- 1857-1886: Memphis Daily Appeal -- digitized and freely available online by the Library of Congress
- Miller, Alan N. West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2006. FHL Collection US/CAN 976.8 U2man. May purchase at Genealogical.com. [Includes Shelby County.]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Shelby County, Tennessee Genealogy records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- West Tennessee Historical Society Papers
- Family History Library has Volumes 1 - 16 and 30 FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w].
The West Tennessee Historical Society Papers are indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI)
To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds
Learn if your Shelby County, Tennessee Genealogy ancestors went to prison!
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850, free index available online through TSLA.
- Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870, free index available online through TSLA.
The Probate Court has responsibility for the probate records of Shelby County.
FamilySearch has placed scans of the following records online in the Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 collection. These are browse-only collections. Handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes:
- Wills, 1830-1862 (4 vols.)
- Probate records, 1867-1898 (54 vols.)
- Minutes, 1824-1829
The following Shelby County probate records have been indexed:
- [1830-1861] Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler and Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL Collection US/CAN 976.8 P22s]. [Includes an index to this county's wills.]
The following Shelby County tax records have been abstracted:
-  Shelby County, Tennessee 1824 Delinquent Tax, Ansearchin' News, Vol. 47 (2000). For access, see Periodicals.
- [1836-1837] Nazor, Mary Louise and Elizabeth Riggins Nichols. "1836 Map of Shelby County, Tennessee" and "Shelby County, Tennessee Tax Lists, 1837-1838," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 33, No. 4 (Winter 1986):152-158; Vol. 34, No. 1 (Spring 1987):9-14; Vol. 34, No. 2 (Summer 1987):79-82; Vol. 34, No. 3 (Fall 1987):129-132. For FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
-  Tax List, 1836, Tennessee Genealogy and History, Vol. 6, No. 1 (2002).
-  Douthat, James L. 1837 Shelby County, Tennessee Tax List. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2002. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.819 R4d]; online: free surname index and purchase details.
- Nazor, Mary Louise Graham. Memphis Tax Lists. Memphis, Tenn.: M.L.G. Nazor, 1991.
- Heiskell, Carrick White. Digest of the Acts Repealing the Charters of Certain Municipal Corporations; the Proclamation of the Governor thereon; the Acts Establishing Taxing Districts, and the Ordinances of the Taxing District of Shelby County, Tennessee. Memphis, Tennesssee: Price, Jones and Co., 1879. Free digital copy, courtesy: Internet Archive.
The Shelby County Register of Deeds has the following indexes online:
- Birth Records 1874-1906
- Death Records 1848-2009
- Marriage Records 1820-1920
The following Shelby County marriage records have been abstracted and/or indexed:
- 1820-1865 - Shelby County Marriage Index 1820-1865 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1819-1850 - Shelby County, Tennessee County Clerk and Memphis Genealogical Society (Tennessee) Marriage records, 1819-1850 Memphis, Tennessee: Memphis Genealogical Society, 1957. FHL Collection US/CAN 976.819 V25s
- 1819-1865 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Early West Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. Nashville, Tenn.: B. Sistler & Associates, 1989. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 1 ff. [Indexes names of brides and grooms, and marriage dates for weddings in this county for the specified years.]
- 1820-1858 - Edythe Johns Rucker Whitley and Deborah G. Sherr Marriages of Shelby County, Tennessee, 1820-1858 Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1982. FHL Collection US/CAN Book 976.819 V2we
- 1820-1865 - Historical Records Project Marriage records, 1820-1865, Shelby County, Tennessee Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1940. FHL Collection US/CAN Film 24825 items 1-4
- 1820-1945 - Shelby County, Tennessee County Clerk Marriage records (Shelby County, Tennessee), 1820-1945 Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1993-1997
Index: FHL US/CAN Film 1148770-72
Marriage bonds and licenses FHL US/CAN Film 1148773-840, 1465425-500, 1512717-26, 1512740
- 1820-1946 - Shelby County (Tennessee) County Court Clerk's Office Marriage licenses and bonds (Shelby County, Tennessee), 1820-1946 Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee State Library and Archives, 1995, 1998
Marriage bond index: FHL US/CAN Film 1784654
Marriage bonds FHL US/CAN Film 1784640-53, 1784692, 1784655-79
- Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - covers all counties in Tennessee.
- Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002 ($). Be aware that this index is not complete for all counties.
Freedman's Bureau Marriage Certificates (1861-1869) is an index to the marriage records kept by the Memphis Field Office of the Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands. It includes groom's surname, groom's given name, groom's age, bride's surname, bride's given name and other information.
In 1940 and 1941, W.P.A. workers pinpointed the location of Shelby County divorce papers in diverse County Courthouse records, see:
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp.
- 1914-1925 - Shelby County Death Index 1914-1925 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
For deaths of Methodists in Shelby County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:
- Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL Collection US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851] ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. [Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s.]
Societies, Libraries and Museums
| Germantown Community Library
1925 Exeter Rd.
Germantown, TN 38138
Hours: Mon.-Thurs. 9:30 a.m.-9 p.m.
Fri.-Sat. 9:30 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sun. 1-6 p.m.
| Germantown Regional History and Genealogy Center
7779 Poplar Pike
Germantown, TN 38138
Mon. 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
Tues., Thurs. 10 a.m.-4 p.m.
Sat. 9 a.m.-5 p.m.
|Genealogical Resources: Biographies, Cemetery Records, Census Records, Church Records, City Directories, County Histories, Court Records, Immigration Records, Tax Records, Military Records, Newspapers, Photographs, Vital Records, etc. The Center is also home to the Tennessee Genealogical Society.|
| Lucius E. and Elsie C. Burch, Jr. Library
501 Poplar View Parkway
Collierville, TN 38017
Mon.-Thurs. 10 a.m.-8 p.m.
Fri.-Sat. 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
Sun. 1-5 p.m.
| Millington Public Library
4858 Navy Rd.
Millington, TN 38053
Mon. 1-5 p.m., Tues., Thurs. 12-8 p.m.
Wed., Fri., Sat. 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
| Sam T. Wilson Public Library
Arlington, TN 38002
Mon. 11 a.m.-7 p.m.
Tues.-Sat. 10 a.m.-6 p.m.
| West Tennessee Historical Society
P.O. Box 111046
Memphis, TN 38111
| West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
University of Tennessee at Martin
Hours vary by semester
|The Heritage Study Center holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle, Fulton, and Hickman counties in Kentucky.|
| University of Memphis Library
Special Collections Department
126 Ned R. WcWherter Library
Memphis, TN 38152
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Frayser Tennessee Family History Center
- Memphis Tennessee Family History Center
8150 Walnut Grove Rd
- Memphis Tennessee North Family History Center
4195 Whitten Rd
These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
- Shelby County, TN History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Tennessee Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Tennessee Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Shelby County, TNGenWeb *FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shelby County, Tennessee page 643, At various libr40ries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ WorldCat 14746022 book ▲ WorldCat 34592304 microform. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey (W.P.A.), 1941; "Earliest County Records," Tennessee State Library and Archives.
- ↑ List of Counties in Tennessee Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 643. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- ↑ Robert M. McBride, WorldCat 146902 Tennessee County Data] (Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee States Library and Archives, 1966), 43.
- ↑ May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 22 August 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 22 August 2012)
- ↑ The Heritage Quest Online version of PERSI aided in the compilation of this list.
- ↑ 13.0 13.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/6/64/Igitennessees.pdf.
- This page was last modified on 22 March 2015, at 15:47.
- This page has been accessed 31,959 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More