Shelter Island, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.png New YorkGotoarrow.png Suffolk CountyGotoarrow.png Town of Shelter Island


Contents

Resources

Census

  • 1771 - Mallman, Jacob. Historical Papers on Shelter Island and its Presbyterian Church 1899. Page 62.[1] Digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Church Records

  • Mallman, Jacob. Historical Papers on Shelter Island and its Presbyterian Church 1899. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Societies

Town Clerk

Shelter Island Town Clerk
Dorothy S. Ogar
Town Hall
38 North Ferry Road
PO Box 1549
Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone: 631-749-1166
Email: townclerk@shelterislandtown.us
The Town Clerk maintains birth, marriage and Death records.

Town Historian

Shelter Island Town Historian
Louise Green
Town Hall
38 North Ferry Road
PO Box 1549
Shelter Island, NY 11964

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Shelter Island, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

  1. Harry Macy, "Newtown Census of 1771," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 117, No. 1 (Jan. 1986):8. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 117. The original census records were destroyed in a 1911 fire at the New York State Library.

Places



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 March 2012, at 18:55.
  • This page has been accessed 870 times.