Shelton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Shelton, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shelton, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stoke on Trent PLU
Registration District Stoke upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1834
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke upon Trent
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Shelton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1843 from Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire Ancient Parish.

SHELTON, a district parish, in the parish, union, and newly-erected borough of Stoke-upon-Trent, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford,  2 miles  ( E. N. E.) from Newcastle-underLyme. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans of the Old and New Connexion. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Shelton St Mark was formed from part of Stoke upon Trent, Staffordshire St Peter EP


Shelton St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]   FREG - Search under Hanley
SHELTON ST MARK (1834) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1834-1874
1839-1851
1834-1926


Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1834-1968 Mar 1839-1997 Bur 1834-1926
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1834-1836 Mar none Bur 1834-1836

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474621.

Poor Law Unions

Stoke Upon Trent Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 66-69. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 September 2014.
  3. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 September 2014, at 15:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,445 times.