Shepton Mallet, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Parishes

Guide to Shepton Mallet, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shepton Mallet, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitstone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Shepton Mallet PLU
Registration District Shepton Mallet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1635
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHEPTON-MALLET (St. Peter and St. Paul), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Whitestone, E. division of Somerset, 14 miles (N. E.) from Somerton, and 125 miles (W. by S.) from London, containing the hamlet of CharltonWoodlands, and part of that of Oakhill. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shepton Mallet, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Shepton Mallet, Somerset Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1566-1901
1566-1900
1635-1901
FS 1566-1679
1566-1679

MARR
1615-1754

NBI

1615-1899

Oakhill registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OAKHILL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1866-1901

Cowl Street Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cowl Street Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1757-1835

1802-1837

Hephzibah Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cowl Street Chapel Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1801-1836


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474606.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/SheptonMallet/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-74. Date accessed and adapted: 15 May 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 August 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,887 times.