Sherburn in Elmet, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Sherburn in Elmet

Guide to Sherburn in Elmet, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sherburn in Elmet, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barkstone-Ash
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Preston Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Pontefract; Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1640; Separate registers exist for South Milford beginning 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery New Ainsty
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Fenton
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sherburn in Elmet is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire.

Other places in the parish include: Barkston, South Milford, Huddleston, Huddleston and Lumby, Huddleston cum Lumby, Huddleston with Lumby, Lennerton, Linnerton, Lotherton cum Aberford, Lumby, Micklefield, Newthorpe, Rest Park, Sherburn with Lennerton, and Barkstone.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in Sherburn in Elmet include: Primitive Methodist, Roman Catholic, and Wesleyan Methodist.

SHERBURN (All Saints), a market-town and parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Barkstone, Huddlestone with Lumby, Lotherton, South Milford, Newthorpe, and Sherburn, and the chapelry of Micklefield; and containing 3757 inhabitants, of whom 1328 are in the town, 15 miles (S. W. by S.) from York, and 184 (N. by W.) from London. [1]

Resources

Church Records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sherburn in Elmet exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SHERBURN IN ELMET PARISH (1641) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1641, 1653
1844-1877

FMP 1838-1872 1838-1872 1823-1901 1823-1901 1851 1851
FS 1641-1901
1641-1901
1813-1901
JOIN None

1720-1837
None

This ancient parish was created in 1639.  Church of England records began in 1640.

Online data content from registers of South Milford exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

South Milford Yorkshire Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1846-1860, 1866-1886
1847, 1860-1886

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464249.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-74. Date accessed: 17 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,854 times.