Sheriffhales, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Sheriffhales, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

]
Sheriffhales, Staffordshire
St Mary Sherrifhales Shropshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Bradford; West Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Shifnal PLU
Registration District Newport; Shiffnal
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brewood
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Parish History

SHERIFF-HALES (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shiffnall,  partly in the Newport division of the hundred of South Bradford, N. division of Shropshire,  but chiefly in the W. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone,  S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Shiffnall.  There is a chapel of ease at Woodcote; also a place of worship in the parish for Wesleyans. [1]

Contents

For more information and records see Sheriffhales, Shropshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sheriffhales parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
SHERIFFHALES ST MARY PARISH (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1901
JOIN
1557-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1670-1860 Marr 1670-1837 Bur 1670-1860



Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/SheriffHales/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  3. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,156 times.