Sherman County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Sherman County

Guide to Sherman County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Sherman County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Sherman County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 25, 1889
County Seat Moro
Courthouse
Address Sherman County Courthouse
500 Court Street
Moro, Or 97039
Phone: 541-565-3606
Sherman County Website


Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1889
birth records from 1904-1939, death records 1905-1952
and court records from 1894. [1]


Sherman County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Sherman County Court House as of September 2006.

Sherman County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

Historical Facts

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Sherman County, Oregon


Parent County

25 February 1889: Sherman county was created from Wasco County. Named for William Tecumseh Sherman, Union general in the American Civil War. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Grass Valley | Moro | Rufus | Wasco

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Ainsworth | Biggs Junction | Kent

Neighboring Counties

Gilliam | Wasco | Klickitat, Washington

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land

Maps

Orsherman.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Sherman County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries, Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Sherman County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tillamook County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092; FamilySearch Catalog Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap6.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 2,904 times.