Shermanbury, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Shermanbury, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shermanbury, Sussex
Shermanbury St+Giles West+Sussex.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Windham and Ewhurst
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHERMANBURY (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Windham and Ewhurst, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 8 miles (N. E. by N.) from Steyning. It is bounded on the south by the river Adur. The church, which is beautifully situated in Shermanbury Park, close to the mansion-house, is a handsome structure; the windows are embellished with stained glass.[1]

Shermanbury St Giles is an Ancient Parish.

Church History Shermanbury St Giles

The Parish church of St Giles has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

Shermanbury Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

See also Shermanbury Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Horsham

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Shermanbury, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Shermanbury, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1606-1876 1606-1875

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Shermanbury

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Protestation Returns

There are 52 1641 Protestation returns in the database at Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Shermanbury/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 962 times.