Sherwood Villa, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Sherwood Villa, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sherwood Villa, Devon
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union Crediton PLU
Registration District Crediton
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Sherwood Villa, parish, Devon, near Crediton.[1]

An additional reference for Sherwood Villa is found under Newton Syres:

NEWTON-ST. CYRES, a village and a parish in Crediton district, Devon. The village stands on the river Creedy, adjacent to the Exeter and North Devon railway, 4½ miles N W of Exeter; and has a station on the railway, a post-office under Exeter. Acres, with Sherwood-Villa.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887). Date accessed: 31 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Date accessed: 31 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 May 2014, at 15:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,258 times.