Sheviock, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Sheviock, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheviock, Cornwall
Sheviock St Mary contributor Tony Atkin.jpg
Sheviock St Mary contributor Tony Atkin
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans PLU
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHEVIOCK (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of St. Germans, S. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 3 miles (S. by E.) from St. Germans. [1] Sheviock St Mary (Cornish: Seviek) is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish include: Crafthole.

The parish church of St Mary stands in the hamlet of Sheviock at OS Grid Ref SX370550: the building is of the 13th, 14th and 15th centuries. Two late 14th century tombs are thought to be of three members of the Courtenay family.

Themodern parish is part of Antony with Sheviock in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Sheviock, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
GOOG = Google Books - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[11]
Sheviock, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1570-1812

COPC 1624-1871
1570-1913
1589-1900
FMP 1624-1871 1570-1836 1813-1837
FREG
1570-1812

FS PRs 1569-1871 1569-1903 1569-1899
GOOG 1624-1666 1571-1670 1569-1655
IGI 1624-1871 1570-1840
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 208

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for Sheviock Parish.

Sheviock's Online Parish Clerk also contributes to a website for the parishes of the Rame Peninsula including:

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241259.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Germans Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Sheviock in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Date accessed: 25 March 2013
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Arthur J. Jewers, 'Part of Sheviock Parish Register,' Notes and Gleanings: A Monthly Magazine Devoted chiefly to subjects connected with the Counties of Devon and Cornwall, Vol. 5 (1892):57-78. Digitised by Google Books - free.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,396 times.