Shipbourne, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Shipbourne, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Shipbourne, Kent
Shipbourne St Giles Kent.jpg
Shipbourne St Giles Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wrotham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1658; For more records see Tonbridge
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - None
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Shipbourne is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent Shipbourne Wikipedia

Shipbourne St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester which was initially formed as a chapelry in Tonbridge St Peter and St Paul, Kent , see Edward Hasted for a detailed history of the church and rebuilding. A map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The parish church of St Giles Ightham Road Tonbridge has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 45-53. Date accessed: 21 October 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Shipbourne North West Kent Family History Society and Shipbourne St Giles

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shipbourne, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IARC = InternetArchive - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
Shipbourne, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1719-1904
1719-1746

BOYD
1666-1700

FMP
1813-1831

FREG 1560-1658
1560-1658
1560-1658
FS BTs 1719-1747, 1813-1904 1719-1747, 1813-1904 1719-1747, 1813-1904
FS PRs 1871-1901 1754-1900
IARC 1560-1658 1560-1658 1560-1658
IGI 1560-1658 1560-1658, 1813-1831

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Shipbourne are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831


Census records

census returns for Shipbourne 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

SHIPBORNE (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Wrotham, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 3¾ miles (N.) from Tonbridge. [9]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Frederick Arthur Crisp, Registers of Shipbourne, Co. Kent (London: F.A. Crisp, 1921). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  9. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 82-85. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 June 2014, at 19:11.
  • This page has been accessed 2,359 times.