Shipley, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Shipley, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shipley, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Grinstead
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Horsham PLU
Registration District Horsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1609
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHIPLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of West Grinstead, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S. S. W.) from Horsham.[1]

Shipley is a village and civil parish in the Horsham district of West Sussex Shipley West Sussex Wikipedia

Shipley St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish which includes Coolham Coolham Wikipedia

The history of the church is described at Sussex Parish Churches + Shipley St Mary the Virgin

The Parish Church of St Mary has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Shipley Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship in Shipley include

Blue Idol, Coolham Society of Friends Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Chapel, St Cuthman's Retreat, Coolham
Mission Hall, Coolham
Wesleyan Chapel, Dragon's Green

See also list of places in Horsham Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Shipley, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Shipley, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1584-1877 1584-1875
PRTS 1584-1901
1584-1900
1584-1901
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Shipley

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Horsham Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Shipley/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 82-85. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,345 times.