Shiprock Indian Agency (New Mexico)Edit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States American Indians New Mexico Indians of New Mexico Shiprock Indian Agency (New Mexico) Guide to Shiprock Indian Agency (New Mexico) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
The Shiprock Agency is one of five currently operating administrative jurisdictions of the Bureau of Indian Affairs for the Navajo Reservation. It is located in Shiprock, New Mexico and its supervising office is the Navajo Area Office. A map of the roads on the Navajo Reservation, created in 2008, is available online.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
The original Navajo Agency was established in 1852 for the Navajo Indians in Arizona, New Mexico, and Utah. After 1901, this agency was gradually divided into several independent agencies. One of those was the Northern Navajo Agency which operated from at least 1903 to 1935 in Shiprock, New Mexico and was sometimes called the Shiprock Agency. It was also sometimes called the San Juan Agency. In 1935, the independent agencies were consolidated into one agency called the Navajo Service, with headquarters in Window Rock, Arizona.
In 1949, the Window Rock Area Office was established and a Navajo Agency was created under the Area Office. Some of the former agencies were reduced to subagency status at that time, one of which was the Shiprock Subagency, which later became an independent agency..
The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:
- Allotment records
- Annuity rolls
- Census records
- Health records
- School census and records
- Vital records
Some general records for the Shiprock Agency and the San Juan Training School, 1903-1955 are in the Pacific Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Laguna Niguel, California.
- ↑ Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, p. 170.
- ↑ Guide to Archival Holdings, Pacific Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Laguna Niguel, Record Group 75, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs Available online
- ↑ Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs Available online
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
- This page was last modified on 31 March 2015, at 18:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,953 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News