Shipton, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Shipton, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shipton, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Munslow
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Church Stretton PLU
Registration District Church Stretton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wenlock
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHIPTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Market Weighton, union of Pocklington, Holme-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, l¼ mile (N. W. by W.) from Market-Weighton;containing 322 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shipton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
SHIPTON PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1538-1804

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
IGI 1538-1875 1538-1804, 1817-1880
JOIN
1538-1804

MLOC 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
PALL
1790-1804

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474585.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Shipton/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 82-85. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51272
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 August 2014, at 14:18.
  • This page has been accessed 711 times.