Shipton, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Shipton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Pocklington PLU|
|Parish registers: 1675|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Weighton|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
SHIPTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Market Weighton, union of Pocklington, Holme-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, l¼ mile (N. W. by W.) from Market-Weighton. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists.
Not to be confused with: SHIPTON, a township, in the parish of Overton, wapentake of Bolmer, N. riding of York, 5½ miles (N. W. by N.) from York. There are places of worship for Calvinistic and Wesleyan Methodists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from church registers of Shipton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|SHIPTON CHAPELRY (1685) Online Records|
|BIVRI||1675-1836, 1870-1880 (gaps)||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding SHIPTON and comprising the whole ancient parish of MARKET WEIGHTON to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the MARKET WEIGHTON parish page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 82-85. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 October 2013.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 82-85. Adapted. Accessed November 7, 2013.
- ↑ 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- ↑ 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,365 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More