Shirwell, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Shirwell, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Shirwell, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shirwell, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sherwill
County Devon
Poor Law Union Barnstaple PLU
Registration District Barnstaple
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Stoke Rivers beginning 1553
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597; Separate records exist for Stoke Rivers beginning 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shirwell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHIRWELL or SHERWILL (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Sherwill, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 4 miles (N. E.) from Barnstaple. The church is a handsome structure in the later English style, with a tower at the western extremity of the south aisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shirwell, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Shirwell, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1601-1754


IGI 1538-1772
1539-1754


Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241321.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Shirwell on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Date accessed: 31 October 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 February 2015, at 15:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,809 times.