Shocklach, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngCheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngShocklach

Guide to Shocklach, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

SHOCKLACH (St. Edith), is a parish, in the union of Wrexham, the Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, and the Southern division of the county of Chester; it is 4½ miles (N. W. by W.), 3½ (W. N. W.), from Malpas, and 7½ E of Wrexham railway station.The parish contains also the township of Caldecott. There is a New Connexion Methodist chapel.[1]  [2]

In the 1800s - Shocklach St Edith is an Ancient Parish and includes: Caldecott, Shocklach Oviatt, and Church Shocklach. Other dwellings and places within the parish include Castletown (part), Green Croft, Lane End (part), Lordsfields, Port Green, The Saughans. St Edith's is a small Norman church, one of the oldest ecclesiastical buildings in Cheshire. The church was built about 1150 by Thomas de Shocklach. The chancel was added in the 14th or the 15th century. In the 17th century the west wall of the nave was restored and altered to provide a small baptistry between two buttresses.

Resources

Census records

The 1841 Census returns for Shocklach are missing.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104269. Church records Shocklach St Edith parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

In the 1800s - Shocklach St Edith is an Ancient Parish and includes: Caldecott, Shocklach Oviatt, and Church Shocklach. Other dwellings and places within the parish include Castletown (part), Green Croft, Lane End (part), Lordsfields, Port Green, The Saughans. St Edith's is a small Norman church, one of the oldest ecclesiastical buildings in Cheshire. The church was built about 1150 by Thomas de Shocklach. The chancel was added in the 14th or the 15th century. In the 17th century the west wall of the nave was restored and altered to provide a small baptistry between two buttresses.

Church records

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Disley St Edith Parish (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD


FS PR's 1538-1881
  NONE
1715-1715
  NONE
1704-1715
  NONE
FS BT'S 1604-1853   NONE
1619-1724
  NONE
1604-1957
  NONE
JOIN
1592-1738

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for St. Mary's Church, Disley, 1591-1958 Filmed by the Manchester Public Library, 1974 Original held at Manchester Central Library.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1591-1812; Marriages, 1591-1732. BRITISH
950398
Burials, 1813-1958; Parish record, certificate, 1846-1859. BRITISH
950399
Baptisms, 1813-1962 BRITISH
950400
Marriages, 1838-1964. BRITISH
950401

Bishop's transcripts for Disley, 1604-1857 Disley is in the parish of Stockport. Cheshire Record Office number: EDB 77.

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1604, 1619, 1621-1622, 1663-1674, 1676-1685, 1689-1692, 1694-1702, 1710, 1713-1735. Baptisms, burials, 1736-1802, 1804-1834, 1836-1837. Baptisms, 1840-1844. Burials, 1835. BRITISH
1655666 Item 2
Baptisms, burials, 1835, 1838-1857. BRITISH
1655667 Item 1


Shocklach St Edith parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups: FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts

Shocklach St Edith Parish (1538) Online Records

Baptisms Marriages Burials FS PR's = 1538-1881

BTs FS = 1538-1837

NONE 1550-1981

FS BT'S = 1599-1890

NONE 1599-1840

NONE 1599-1890

NONE To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. *Parish registers for Shocklach, 1538-1981 Cheshire Record Office call number: P 308/4772/1-8An index for Cheshire parish registers is available on-line in Record Search Baptisms, marriages, burials: 1538-1837. Banns: 1825-1933. Burials: 1838-1981. Baptisms: 1838-1873. BRITISH 2045847 Items 1 - 7 Bishop's transcripts content: FHL Film|-| Baptisms, marriages, burials: 1588, 1585, 1588, 1599, 1601-1606, 1610-1611, 1613-1618, 1622-1631, 1634, 1639, 1664-1665, 1667-1669, 1671-1673, 1676-1677, 1679-1683, 1685, 1694, 1697-1698, 1701-1704, 1706-1739, 1741-1744, 1746, 1748-1750, 1753-1754, 1756-1760, 1763-1783, 1785-1786, 1788-1800, 1804-1806, 1808-1816, 1818-1819, 1823-1840. Burials: 1864-1890. Baptisms: 1817, 1817, 1822, 1864-1890. Marriages: 1822. | BRITISH 1751621 Item 1 = Non-Conformist Churches = None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available: *FreeBMD *Cheshire BMD

Registration Districts

  • Wrexham (1837–96) *Chester (1897–1937) *West Cheshire (1937–74) *Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98) *Cheshire West (post1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Wrexham (1837–96)
  • Tarvin (1897–1930)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

The Ancient Parishes of Malpas, Tilston and Shocklach]see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. *England Jurisdictions 1851 *Vision of Britain== See also

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date Accessed: 18 Nov 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography