Shotley, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Shotley, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shotley, Northumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tindale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Hexham PLU
Registration District Hexham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1767
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corbridge
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHOTLEY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Hexham, E. division of Tindale ward, S. division of Northumberland; The church is on an eminence, about a mile and a half north-west from the village of Shotley-Field; At Blanchland (which see) is a third incumbency; and at Shotley-Field is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Additional information:

Shotley is a Parish created in 1724 from chapelry in Bywell St Andrew, Northumberland Ancient Parish and includes: New Biggen, Newbiggen, Newbiggin, and Shotley Low Quarter.

The earliest medieval reference to the parish is in 1165 when the endowment of Blanchland Abbey included the chapel of Shotley; this now lies beneath the Church of St Andrew.

The ancient church of St. Andrew, having sunk in through the working of a coal mine beneath, is now ruinous. [Kelly's Directory of Durham and Northumberland (1890), page 1049.]

The parish church of St. John, erected in 1835, is an edifice of stone in the Early Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch and campanile tower with 2 bells: the stained east window was presented by the late Thomas Wilson esq. of Shotley Hall: there are 150 sittings. The register dates from the year 1675. The living is a perpetual curacy, yearly value £300, with residence in the gift of the trustees of Lord Crewe, Bishop of Durham, 1674-1722, and held since 1880 by the Rev. Robert Wetherall Wilson B.A. of Hatfield Hall, Durham. [Kelly's Directory of Durham and Northumberland (1890), page 1049.]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/230Date: June 1767-1840  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Shotley, St Andrew/St John: Records of baptisms 1675-1971, marriages 1670-1991 and burials 1690-1960 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Microfilm copies of marriages for the period 1670-1837 can be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.  The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1682-1875 and marriages 1670-1876 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1670-1814 and banns 1751-1775, 1814-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1675-1812, marriages 1670-1812 and burials 1690-1812 for Shotley are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Shotley (microfiche TN75) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

Nonconformist Records

  • Records of baptisms 1949-1967 for Kiln Pit Hill (Methodist) can be seen at Tyne and Wear Archives Service.
  •  Early Wesleyan Methodist chapels in this area belonged to Hexham W.M. Circuit. Records for 1797-1836 can be seen at Northumberland Collections Service and are included on the IGI.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438896.

Poor Law Unions

Hexham Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 1,023 times.