Shotwick, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Shotwick, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shotwick, Cheshire
St Michael's Church, Shotwick Cheshire.JPG
St Michael's Church, Shotwick Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SHOTWICK, a township and a parish in Great Boughton district, Cheshire. The township lies 2¾ miles WSW of Ledsham railway station, and 5½ miles NW of Chester. The parish contains also the townships of Capenhurst, Woodbank, Little Saughall, and Great Saughall; the last of which has a post-office under Chester. There are three dissenting chapels.[1]

St Michael's Church, Shotwick is in the village of Shotwick, Cheshire, England.  The church is  in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Wirral South. Its benefice is combined with that of St Nicholas, Burton. The village, including part of the hamlet of Two Mills was within the Wirral Hundred.

St. Michael’s is a medieval double aisled church with largely eighteenth century furniture including box pews and a three decker pulpit.  What is certain is that when the Domesday Book was compiled, a church existed at “Soto-wiche”, belonging to the secular canons of St. Werburgh. This church had probably been established about 100 years before. The Norman Church, which supplanted the Saxon one about the beginning of the 12th Century.

Shotwick is a village and civil parish on the Wirral Peninsula in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. The village is situated close to the border with Wales.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church records

Scotwick St Michael and All Angels parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Shotwick St Michael and All Angels Parish (1591) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1600-1723, 1878-1896


FS PR's 1681-1909
  NONE
1698-1933
  NONE
1690-1982
  NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1896
  NONE
1599-1888
  NONE
1599-1896
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Shotwick, St. Michael and All Angels (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Capenhurst, Great Saughall, Little Saughall, Shotwick and Woodbank. Registers of Baptisms 1681–1991, Marriages 1681–1992 and Burials 1681–1992 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office, where Bishop's Transcripts survive from 1591.

The Parish registers Parish registers for Shotwick, 1681-1992 Microfilm of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: P49/1/1-3, 2, P49/4832/1-3, P49/3/1-3, P49/5/1-2 

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1681, 1690-1940. Marriages, 1941-1971. Burials, 1941-1992. Interments in Shotwick Church new burial ground, 1873-1904. BRITISH 1999729 Items 1 - 12

The Bishop's Transcripts are on Microfilm as follows:

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Library
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1591, 1599-1600, 1605, 1607-1611, 1614, 1616-1618, 1622-1624, 1626-1627, 1630-1632, 1634, 1636-1639, 1641-1642, 1658-1661, 1669-1672, 1672, 1675-1676, 1679-1683, 1690-1691, 1694-1741, 1745-1805, 1807-1812. BRITISH 1751621 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1813-1829, 1832-1850, 1852-1863, 1867, 1866, 1865, 1864, 1868-1874, 1888. Baptisms, burials, 1830-1831, 1851, 1875-1887, 1889-1896. Burials, 1812, 1828. BRITISH
1751622
Burials, 1878-1896. Baptisms, 1879-1896. Marriages, 1888. BRITISH
1751716 Item 1

The Cheshire, Church of England christening and marriage records are available online at FamilySearch Historic Records

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Great Boughton (1837-1869)
  • Cheshire (1870-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-1974)

Poor Law Unions

Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Hawarden Poor Law Union

Chester Poor Law Union  from 1871-1930

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Shotwick on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 7 April 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 19:07.
  • This page has been accessed 1,725 times.