Shrewsbury, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Rutland Gotoarrow.png Shrewsbury

Contents

Brief History

Shrewsbury was chartered on the 4th of September, 1761, by Henning Wentworth, governor of New Hampshire, under George III, to Samuel Ashleyand sixty- three others, only one of whom ever settled in town. Its organization was not effected until March 20, 1781. The town still retains its original limits except one square mile taken from Plymouth, Windsor county, and annexed to Shrewsbury, October 21, 1823.

The town maintained a relatively stable population in the 19th century. Census records indicate 1,289 citizens in 1830 and 1,235 in 1880. When the lumber industry declined, so did the population. According to 2000 census records, 1,108 people call Shrewsbury home.[1][2]

Historical Data

Town Histories

Historical Photos of Shrewsbury and surrounding area.

Shrewsbury, Vermont -- Our Town As It Was, Dawn D. Hance, Academy Books, Jan 1, 1980.

Vital Records

FamilySearch Historical Records Collection has Vermont birth, death, and marriage records online

Probate Records

The probate district for Shrewsbury is Rutland.

Rutland Probate Court
83 Center Street
Rutland, VT 05701
(802) 775-0114

City Directories

Maps

1854 Rutland County, Shrewsbury map

Cemeteries

The following is a list of cemeteries in present-day Shrewsbury. For location of cemeteries, see Cemteries of Vermont, Rutland County, website at this link

  • Laurel Glenn Cemetery
  • Northam Cemetery
  • Shrewsbury Center Cemetery
  • Tabor Cemetery
  • Woodward-Wilder Cemetery

Churches

1. Shrewsbury Community Church United of Christ
    1300 CCC Rd.
    Shrewsbury VT 05738
    Phone: (802) 492-3402

Town Records

Town Clerk Vital and Town Records, 1732-2005, can be found on FamilySerach (browse only images) at this link.

The Family History Library has microfilm of original records in the Shrewbury Town Hall for the years 1771-1946.

Town of Shrewsbury
9823 Cold River Rd.
Shrewsbury, VT 05738
Phone: (802) 492-3511
Email: shrewsburyclerk@vermontel.net

Newspapers

Rutland Herald online at this link.

Libraries and Historical Societies

Shrewsbury Historical Society, Inc.
5419 VT Route 103
Cuttingville, VT 05738‎
Website: http://shrewsburyhistoricalsociety.com/

References

  1. History Rutland County Vermont, Edited by H. P. Smith and W. S. Rann, Syracuse, NY, 1886.
  2. Shrewsbury: A Town Grows in the Mountains, Don Wickman, Rutland Herald Newspaper, Oct.27, 2006.

Adjacent towns:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2013, at 17:39.
  • This page has been accessed 444 times.